used pmac or imac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by laidbackliam, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    i'm looking to get a desktop system to go along with my macbook pro. mainly for bit torrent use, instant handbrake and the like. ( i transfer all my dvds/tv shows so i can use them on front row).


    i'm not looking to spend too much money, would anyone have any ideas as to what i should do? i'd rather have a mac, not a pc, don't need a monitor.


    i would listen to any suggestions.

    thanks much everyone!

    liam
     
  2. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #2
    If you get a PowerMac you'll be able to upgrade/install hard drives a lot easier for sure, you're going to be limited with an iMac unless you purchase external drives (which are more pricey).
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    I say go with a used Power Mac G5 - you can pick them up pretty cheaply due to the expectations of the imminent arrival of the Mac Pros.
     
  4. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #4
    Well the iMac intel will encode a frack load faster than a G5 thats for sure.
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    I wouldnt do anything until Apple releases the new Powermacs and iMacs this summer. Then decide.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Provided that both run at similar clock speeds. That said, my 2GHz MacBook Pro is capable of closely matching my 2.3GHz Power Mac G5s speed.
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    assuming this yes.

    But i still think you wouldn't be able to find a powermac with the perfect settings for less than (or a significant amount) an equivalent iMac Intel

    Hell my dual 1.8 cost me 1500 and came with 256MB of RAM, a NVIDIA 5200 in it and an 80GB HD.

    Has cost me about 600 or maybe a bit less to make it up to 3GB RAM ATI 9650 and the 80GB + 250GB HD.

    Which lets just say makes it to be 2000 Rounding off

    and for only about 174 dollars more you can get a 20" iMac 256VRAM, 1GB RAM, 500GB HD

    And this is going by retail prices, not education prices.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    Well, if that was the case, then I would definitely go with the 20" iMac.
     
  9. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #9

    However this is going by the price of my powermac when i did infact buy it

    and that was a refurb.

    Currently the cheapest refurb is 1700 with only 512RAM and 160GB HD
     
  10. 9Charms macrumors regular

    9Charms

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
    Pickup a mirrored drive door powermac g4 with dual 1ghz or better. You can throw 4 hard drives in there without any extra PCI cards or cables. These machines are quickly coming down in price so it shouldn't cost you too much, and it's probably all the power you're going to need for your purposes.
     
  11. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #11
    I'm selling the one in my sig. for £500, all boxed, 2 months old from Apple, with receipts etc.

    It includes free next day insured delivery in the UK.

    PM me if your interested. :)
     
  12. laidbackliam thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #12
    that sounds more along the lines i'm thinking


    encode speeds aren't too bothersome for me, as i could just start it when i go to work, and it would be done when i get home. plus it'd be nice to have an always on computer, i don't like leaving the mbp open all the time.

    i'm definately leaning more to a dual config g4 powermac, but still up in the air really.

    another question you guys might know the answer to. are there cards with video out for these powermacs? if its possible, i'd like to be able to connect it to my living room setup, its not a huge deal, but something i would like to do.
     
  13. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #13
    Of course there are. Almost all modern video cards have this feature included. :)
     
  14. 9Charms macrumors regular

    9Charms

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #14
    You could get a new expensive video card, but why bother when Elgato sells the EyeHome for $100. The video card would forever be tied to your obsolete PMac while the EyeHome can be used with any Mac. Also, it would allow you to keep your noisy PMac some place else and still access all the contents from your living room.
     
  15. laidbackliam thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #15
    i think your idea of cheap and mine are two different things :)

    with that thinking though, a dual g4 config should be going down in price as well, which is really seems to be the best bet
     

Share This Page