Used PowerMac G5 Configuration. Please help!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by aaron.lee2006, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Ok, so I have a MacBook Pro but I am really interested in buying a used PowerMac G5 as a secondary workstation. I need some help deciding on how much I should spend and what configuration I should get. I run a small photography business so I would be running very light use of Aperture but lots of Adobe CS3. I am not interested in just buying an external display for my MacBook Pro, I want the tower.

    So the real question.

    What kind of configuration do I need and how much should I be spending for it? Take into consideration that I am only 16 and do not have tons of money to blow away.

    Thanks a lot,
    Aaron
    :apple:
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #3
    I'd get a C2D iMac 20" and put 2GB of ram in it.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    I already ruled out an iMac with help from another member.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #5
    Well, it'd be faster than a PowerMac G5. Sure, you can't expand that much, but you said to take into account that you're "16 and do not have tons of money to blow away." You can always expand externally, which would probably be a good idea anyway since you have a portable also.

    But, a suggestion is just a suggestion. good luck.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    Your suggestion was good it is that the iMac does not have a perfect display for photography, I can get my own monitor with a G5.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #7
    Dual G4 Powermacs are going in the $300-500 range on my local craigslist. Those are not slow machines at all. And you can add a video card, extra hard drives, etc.
     

Share This Page