Used RAM, new computer?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacFan26, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. MacFan26 macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #1
    Is used RAM bad to put in a different computer? I'm planning on buying more RAM for my PowerBook, and putting the RAM I had in there into my Mom's iBook...which is the same except hers is PC100 and mine is PC133 (will this even work to begin with?). I thought I could save her the trouble of having to spend money on more if she could use mine and double her current RAM.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    In general, yes you can put PC133 SODIMMs from a Powerbook into an iBook that takes PC100 SODIMMs. There are exceptions on specific models and types of modules, but it is definitely worth a try.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. MacFan26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #3
    Okay awesome. I'll definitely try that, thanks :D
     
  4. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #4
    It should work, but it will clock the 133Mhz RAM down to 100MHz. Let us know how it turns out.
     
  5. MacFan26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #5
    It all worked fine, in fact, the 128 that Apple put in there was a 133mhz anyway, ha. Too bad there's only one slot on that computer, and I couldn't take out the "built in" ram to upgrade it.
     

Share This Page