useing "Ripping a DVD to an iPod Video"

Discussion in 'iPod' started by blueribbonroy, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    these instructions on this web site for ripping dvds have worked really great but today i did the movie the abyss and I cannot sink it to any of my ipods when I try it says "the movie the abyss cannot be played on this ipod. I have a touch and one of the square-ish nanos. what the heck is going on? thanks for the help!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #2
    Have you tried Handbrake?

    Are you using handbrake? If not you should. It has a list of the presets necessary for the different iPod types. Hasn't failed me yet.

    http://handbrake.fr
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    ok

    cool im re doing the encoding task with ipod touch selected
    I'll se how it goes ad get back to you all
    later...
    ok im back i used it and it worked like a charm, two more questions though. do I always have to use mac the ripper? and what do I do about DVDs of TV shows I tried to do a simpsons DVD and I only got one episode same with startrek what settings should I use to rip DVDs that have episode like that? thanks a lot for all the good help guys and girls!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #5
    awesome

    thatworked I should have known I was over looking something simple, two more questions though. do I always have to use mac the ripper? and what do I do about DVDs of TV shows I tried to do a simpsons DVD and I only got one episode same with startrek what settings should I use to rip DVDs that have episodes like that? thanks a lot for all the good help guys and girls!
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    No, you don't always need MactheRipper, Handbrake can read directly from the DVD.

    In order to handle TV shows, use the queue. Choose the first title, give it a name and then press Add to Queue at the top. Repeat for every episode on the dis, then press start.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #7
    Handbrake

    I've converted DVD to .M4V format hoping the iPod will read but this is not the case. In Handbrake I can choose the output setting format: MP4 file but then the "iPod 5G support" box remains light (can not click). After the DVD is converted to M4V format, the iPod does not recognize the files and gives the error message: "..were not copied, because they can not be played on this iPod".

    Did I do something wrong or do I have a problem with my iPod?
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #8
    Which iPod preset are you using?

    If you have the iPod 5G, then I believe you need to use iPod Low Res ...

    Once you click on a preset, you do not need to change ANY setting, except the filename and where you want it saved.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    FairMount helps me out at times. It seems to fix ripping when the DVD maker puts bad sectors on the disc to thwart ripping. Maybe that's just paranoia from the issues I had with HandBrake due to a stupid custom preset, but I use FairMount all of the time now. It's ridiculous to see how many bad cells some of these discs have.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #10
    Where is this setting, my wife is trying to put a movie on her Ipod Classic using handbrake also
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #11
    Top right: Toggle presets ...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #12
    THANKS!!
     

Share This Page