user swtiching

Discussion in 'macOS' started by derajfast, Nov 4, 2005.

1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

Mar 24, 2004
    i just bought the new 17 iMac for my family, and ive never really used user names and stuff before....i want it to be everyone can share the same music, photos, videos, etc, but i just want them to have different prefs....preferably the same docks as well....i want to make everyone an administrator so they have equal access to everyones do i do this
  2. mcmillan macrumors 6502

Jul 4, 2004
    Most of the things you're asking for can be done in the system preferences under "Accounts". But I don't think there's an easy way to share all pics an movies, and have the same dock between accounts. Maybe .Mac? But it wouldn't make sense to buy an account to use within the same computer.
  3. strydr macrumors 6502

Mar 25, 2005
    OK, I'm not a expert, but for the Dock, I think if you copy the Dock.plst to each user account, the dock should be the same. As far as sharing music, search the forums for the answer, it's in there several times. You might be able to relocate the iPhoto Library and iTunes library to the Shared folder(never tried this), then point iTunes/iPhoto there for its data. I think, by default, each user's data is locked from anyone else. You can change ownership of files, but I don't think you can have everyone read/change the file. I would suggest creating a folder with a SymLink in the shared folder (users/shared) on each desktop, that way, anything you want shared, can be droped into this folder. I would also suggest not having everyone be a Admin. Even with a Mac, this can have negative results.
  4. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

Mar 24, 2004