Using a 30" display as a TV

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by clykins90, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. clykins90 macrumors regular

    clykins90

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #1
    Is there a reason that someone wouldn't just buy a 30" apple display, get a tuner and use that as the tv?
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    Just make sure you get a tuner that supports up to 2560x1600 (do they make them that high, if so it's probably expensive). Anything less is going to be blocky.
     
  3. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    Hmm...

    The 30" (and its Dell counterpart) only had one connection and that's for a dual-link DVI. No current tuner supports that kind of connection. In order to get content on the screen, you're going to have to have a computer with a modern video card and a dual-link connector with some sort of tuner hooked up. The 30" is no different than any other display in terms as its meant to be used with a computer primarally although 1080p wouldn't look half bad on it...

    Dunno about that, I watched a short 480p (DVD size) H.264 clip on a 30" at an Apple store and it looked pretty damn good. the 720p and 1080p ones were better certainly but it was certainly watchable at 480p.
     
  4. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #5
    Are any of these adapters dual-link DVI and can handle 2560x1600 resolution?
     
  5. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    Also be aware that the maximum resolution of a TV signal (that being HDTV 1080p/i) is only going to be 1920 x 1080, much lower than the 2560 x 1600 resolution of the 30".
     
  6. The Mad Kiwi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    In Hell
    #8
    It's a shame the mini won't drive the 30" display, because that'd be sweet and not a lot more expensive than some of the better LCD TVs out there.
     
  7. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
  8. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #10
    Heck, my 20-inch Dell does a pretty good job when I need it. I normally use my 24 inch Samsung CRT TV.
     
  9. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #11
    Right on, grapeman. Just buy the 23" and save money. The 23" is more than big enough. The 30" is almost unusable as far as I'm concerned.
     

Share This Page