Using a PC on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by TheT, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. TheT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hello,

    well, my problem is: I own a G3 400 iMac and need a PC really urgently. VPC's performance is below anything I'd call actually useable.
    I remember reading something in these forums about being able to hook up a real PC to a Mac and actually use it via Mac by logging in remotely or something like that. Did I just make that up or is it really possible?
    Say, I'd get an old PII, how would I do that?
    Any advice greatly appreciated!

    -TheT
     
  2. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    www.microsoft.com/mac

    you want the remote desktop connection download. Its works for OS X and win2k/xp, so that might not work for you, but thats what i do, log into my xp box through the powerbook.
     
  3. TheT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Sweet!
    But are you running XP home or professional? Cause it only seems to work with the 'High-End' Windows versions.
    If I understand the read-mes right: I simply connect my Mac to the PC with a LAN-cable and that's it? And how about sharing an internet connection? I'd need a router, right?
    Hopefully I'll be able to get it all today...
     
  4. Nik_Doof macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    #4
    WinXP? RDC? Pah, get VNC server running on the windows sucker and connect in :)

    Theres VNC clients for almost every OS out there... including the likes of palms :)

    [edit]

    Note: i run WinXP RDC at home, cause i have a PC that can run XP happly, the guy is talkin about a PII, which at a extreme struggle will run XP, so why not put 9x on it and use VNC instead.

    Mac Client: http://homepage.mac.com/kedoin/VNC/VNCViewer/
    and another: http://www.webthing.net/vncthing/

    Windows server/client: http://www.realvnc.com

    Do a search on Google for VNC clients / servers....as the protocol is GPLed theres shedloads of em :)
     
  5. AnotherMortal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #5
    VNC is probably the best solution, or just buy a PC (plenty of low-end PCs for sale) and have two machines. I did this for a long time before letting my fiance' use my Dell laptop.

    VNC is nice though because you can connect the the PC or Mac no matter where it is located. Some days I need something off my Mac at home, or I want to check for new IMs at home. (I don't use AIM at work) Just open up VNC, and you're there.

    I'm using the RealVNC program on the PC: http://www.realvnc.com/

    and OSXvnc on the Mac for the server: http://www.redstonesoftware.com/vnc.html

    and for a client, I've used a couple of these: http://homepage.mac.com/kedoin/VNC/VNCViewer/

    Though I've heard nice things about Chicken of the VNC: http://sourceforge.net/projects/cotvnc/
     
  6. TheT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Thank you guys!
    This sounds too good to be true, I'll try it right when I get a PC today!
     
  7. AnotherMortal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #7
    Just remember, you're just remotely controlling a PC, its not like Virtual PC where the PC is in a Virtual Machine inside the Mac.
     
  8. TheT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Yeah, I know, but isn't it basically like using a Mac-window as a PC screen?
     
  9. AnotherMortal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #9
    Yes, there will be a window that contains the Windows PC screen
     
  10. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    VNC sounds cool guys. I always used RDC cause i didn't know any better. But my set-up has my PC (xp pro) upstairs in my bedroom hardwired to the network, then i can use airport to log into my xp box from downstairs or where ever. I am going to try vnc tho, looks neat, and a lot more flexable.
     
  11. g808 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #11
    Do you guys really get good response time using VNC? I tried it and it's soooooooo slow! In fact, unbearably slow.

    I put win2k server on my PC and am using RDC...it's great! It's just as fast as if I was sitting at my PC.

    I also like the ability to run my own session vs. controlling an existing one.


    I would agree that VNC is cheap solution if you cannot buy a new PC, afford VPC, or cannot get your hands on a copy of XP pro or win2k server.
     

Share This Page