Using a Samsung 23" LCD HD Monitor as an external monitor

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mac000, Dec 17, 2006.

  1. mac000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
  2. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #2
    i think i just found out what the problem here would be - the resolution - it sucks for a computer monitor,

    - so to further this questions, what is a very good monitor that works as an HDTV, none right? bc most are HD tv monitors so you'll need the additional HD reciever + box from your cable company right?
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    You can't tell how an LCD will look from the specs - the only way you can tell is if you yourself look at the screens in use and buy the one you think looks the best.

    Specs really don't help if the screens are using different types of LCD panels.

    EDIT - And that's a TV monitor, not a computer monitor. For that size you should be looking at a res of 1920x1200.

    EDIT - And you've just noticed that too. Snap!
     
  4. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It would probably work, but the resolution is: 1366 x 768, or 720p. The 23" ACD's resolution is: 1920 x 1200.
     
  5. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #5
    so can the Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP can be used as a computer monitor for the MBP and a HD TV?
     
  6. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
  7. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #7
  8. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, should think so.
     
  9. jtown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #9
    Yeah, but whether it's the right choice depends on whether you're looking for a computer monitor that can also display HD or an HD monitor that can also be hooked up to a computer. 24" is big for a computer monitor but small for watching movies from the couch.

    I just bought a 37" 1920x1080 Westinghouse, partly for the huge number of inputs. Even with two computers and two HD sources connected at 1080p (actually, I think the HD DVR is 1080i), I still have two component video connections open, capable of accepting HD up to 1080i. It's not totally overwhelming as a computer monitor sitting 3' away and it looks incredible watching HD content (and even SD content) from 8-9 feet away.

    And don't get too caught up in the difference between 1920x1080 and 1920x1200. Either way, it's a whole lot of desktop. :)
     
  10. Kalns macrumors regular

    Kalns

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #10
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    I was going to suggest that Sammy too as it has a decent resolution for an HDTV. (Same as 17" iMac).

    Did you note the plethora of negative comments on Amazon about this unit? They're all harping about one thing. The lack fo the promised ATSC tuner, so I hope you weren't planning on using the ATSC function. :p

    B
     
  12. jtown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #12
    Those 1440x900 displays being marketed as HD units has confused me from day one. You'll either have to display 720p letterboxed (big black bars top and bottom) or scale it up to 900 lines. Either wasted space or reduced quality. 1080i will either need to be chopped off top and bottom or scaled down to 900 lines. Either lost picture or reduced quality. Oddly, it's right in the middle between the two formats. Either 180 lines to many or 180 lines too few. At least they split it right down the middle. :)

    BTW, read the reviews and cancel your order. According to the reviewers, you're not going to get the product you ordered.
     
  13. Kalns macrumors regular

    Kalns

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #13
    I knew I wasn't getting the built in HD tuner. It doesn't bother me. I only ever watch Turner Classic movies and I have cable.
     

Share This Page