Using a scanner with OS X..very basic question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diomedes, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. Diomedes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Hi,

    Sorry if this sounds really basic, but in the year since I've switched I haven't had it come up...

    Can I use a USB scanner without any drivers? I've got Photoshop and a host of other graphics programs, but I didn't know if that, or ImageCapture, are all I need. I am want to use an HP USB scanner (which is connected to a Windows PC)..but I wanted to know what software I needed to use it.
     
  2. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #2
    I would suggest plugging it in via usb to your Mac and powering it up. Then run ImageCapture. If it shows up then start using it......if not just go to HP's website.....find their download drivers section.....and then find your exact model of software.....download it and install it.
     
  3. Stewie macrumors 6502

    Stewie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    DC
    #3
    If it is a newer scanner you might be able to use ImageCapture without installing any other software. But more then likely you will need to download a twain driver from HP to get it to work in Photoshop.
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    I don't have experience with a broad cross-section of scanners, but the ones I've used with OS X (Microtek and HP) have all required drivers.
     
  5. Cybernanga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, United Kingdom
    #5
    You need Drivers

    No, you will need drivers, check the HP website and see if they have them, most models will, but some scanners will be PC only, until someone writes a driver.
     
  6. PickledSquirrel macrumors regular

    PickledSquirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aarhus, DK
    #6
    HP did not provide mac-friendly drivers for my ancient scanjet. If you use a newer scanner, then maybe the HP driver download page can help you.
    I'm using scantastic from secondglance. Payware, unfortunately, but it works like a charm.

    -Squirrel
     
  7. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #7
    I've also seen some (more popular) scanners that ImageCaputre recognizes without installing anything, but I'm not so sure about HP (guessing no, and it doesn't like my somewhat older Canon scanner, either). HP probably has drivers if it's recent, though.

    You might also check out the well-known program VueScan, which, although it's a bit pricey ($60) supports a huge number of scanners and at least in theory adds a lot of features, too.
     
  8. molcas&e'sdad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota.
    #8
    I use VueScan with my Cannon scanner and I am very happy. I used to have an HP scanner, though, which was not supported. In fact, a number of HP scanners were not supported by VueScan. I suggest that if you consider VueScan that you first check to see if your scanner is supported. If it is, I believe that there is a free (read: crippled) version. I have found that HP is definitely not Mac-friendly due to the lack of good printer and scanner drivers.
     
  9. useless macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #9
    canon lide 80 scanner

    I have just got an imac leopard and I cannot connect the lide 80 scanner to it, I have tried to install the canon driver and it is not recognizing the format. I am new to this is there anyone who can tell me what I am doing wrong step by step
     

Share This Page