Using Airport as wireless router?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by greenguy4, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. greenguy4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #1
    I know this is possible but can I also do it with my friends computers who are using PC laptops? And is it any different than with Mac laptops. I would have the ehternet plugged into my computer and then what?

    Thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It should work with Windows laptops as well as Mac ones. You want to share the internet connection you are receiving over ethernet using Airport? Use the Sharing panel in System Preferences.
     
  3. greenguy4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #3
    I tried that and then I set up the Network and they join--everything looks good but when they open Firefox/Safari it just isnt able to connect?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    What sort of error are they getting? Can they ping the sites from the Terminal (ping www.google.com is a good way of testing a connection). If not it's probably that they default gateway and/or DNS setting are not correct.
     
  5. calculush1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    AIrport with PCs

    I use a PC laptop with my Airport. I used to have a mac desktop but that went and died on me. Both worked fine together, I have no problems with the laptop alone. PCs love airports.
     

Share This Page