Using any kind of RAM in a 2011 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheGreenBastard, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #1
    I want to upgrade the RAM in this pig to at least somewhat future proof it. I'd like to get it up to 8GB but I was looking into buying THIS. But as it turns out it won't work with a Mac for some reason? Because it doesn't say "Apple" or "Mac"? What's the difference between the Mac RAM and laptop RAM that makes it incompatible?

    Just curious because that 8GB on Amazon is a great deal...
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Funny the reviews from Amazon.com say that memory works fine in a 2011 iMac.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #3
    Wow. I showed that link to a person on Apple support chat and "Dave" said it wouldn't work...should've read the reviews. Someone shoot me, please. I apologize for this thread.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Imac Sam

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisonburg, Virginia
    #4
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #5
    The difference between "mac" ram and other ram is the sticker on it.

    It is sold as certified for mac by vendors who are milking the fear/reputation that PPC macs had for needing different RAM to PCs.

    Nowadays, Macs ARE PCs as far as architecture goes.

    I just installed 16GB of non-Mac strontium/hynix DDR3 1600 in my Macbook Pro and it is FINE.

    Just make sure you buy the appropriate spec (DDRx, proper speed, etc) and you'll be fine.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #6
    204 Pin vs 240 Pin

    ** I clicked on your LINK.. I am pretty sure you DO need 204 Pin and THAT one is 240 Pin, so YES, it Will Not Work!! :confused: :apple:

    Since I see you are in Canada, I have used NewEgg.ca and Mushkin RAM (USA made and great support and reviews) in my last 2x MBPs as well as just 2 days ago I put 4x 8GB into my friend's 2011 iMac.. Very Snappy Now!!

    Pretty sure ALL of these will fit, and you can 'filter results' at the LH Column by GB-MFG etc.. Pretty sure they are very competitive and have been great to me over the years.. Lots of Options, Name Brands likely better support and not much more $$ for sure!!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #7
  8. TheGreenBastard, Jan 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #8
    What, are kidding me?

    From a review on Amazon: "Purchased this to upgrade the memory in my 2011 27" iMac and it is working flawlessly."

    Do 27" and 21" differ? ****, I bought this RAM...

    Edit: I checked out a link on Apple's site about upgrading RAM, it says the the 27" model requires the 204 pin RAM as well. So either he's a liar, or 204 pin will work...as well as 240? Idk.

    Edit2: Another review on Amazon: "This worked like a charm for a new (2011) iMac 21.5" I purchased for my wife."

    Edit3: It's a SODIMM (laptop) chip rather than DIMM (desktop), so it should work. (Hoping)

    Crossing my fingers.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #9
    bump
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    Maybe try a simple Google search before running your mouth.

    There are plenty of examples of people matching RAM specs exactly and still running into problems. I've encountered this myself on a couple of Macs - they can be fussy about RAM.

    This isn't limited to Macs either, other brand name laptops can also have this issue...

    If the manufacturer certifies the RAM to work with a given system it usually means they have actually tested it in that system.

    Given that the "certified" I got was within a dollar or two of the price of the standard RAM by the same manufacturer, exactly what were they "milking"?
     
  11. throAU, Jan 16, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013

    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #11
    If the RAM spec "matches exactly" and doesn't work - you have faulty ram or faulty installation.


    I've been doing this PC industry stuff for 18 years now - long enough to know that the majority of people posting on google are muppets :)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #12
    Back to the question at hand please.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Halifax
    #13
    bump 2
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    All I'm saying is this:

    1. I too thought it was rubbish, until I encountered the problem first hand.
    2. Regardless of being reseated, the RAM caused unpredictable behaviour when running in the Mac (random beach balling etc).
    3. The same RAM installed into a Windows laptop worked perfectly and did not cause any problems.
    4. There are many examples of this online.

    When building things to a specification, there will be variation when coming off a production line and different computers have different levels of tolerance for these variations. I tend to think it's got to do with the required voltage for the RAM.

    Also, you'll just have to believe me when I tell you i'm far from a novice user.

    ----------

    You've bumped your thread twice within 4 hours even though it's getting replies. This is inappropriate and if you continue with this you might find that a mod takes action.
     

Share This Page