using bluetooth with motorola..

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by hupalmer, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. hupalmer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    #1
    Hi there,

    Hope someone can help me with this one. I just upgraded from a Sony Ericsson T610 mobile phone, which i-synced happily with my ibook/usb bluetooth setup, and also connected with the internet equally well. Now I have a much nicer to use motorola v550 phone, but it won't isync, and it won't connect to the internet. I understand that isync 1.5 won't work with this phone, so I've just ordered up OSX 10.4 which will support isync 2.0 and thus the isync should work... but can anyone tell me if they have had any luck with connecting to the internet with one of these? Otherwise it's carrying around my old phone and wearing out my fingernails swapping the simcards around, which isn't ideal...

    Many thanks

    Hugh
     
  2. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #2
    If my Motorola v710 supports that out of the box, I'm sure the 550 should. The v710 (from Verizon anyway) is the most crippled phone in the world, so you're probably safe.
     
  3. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #3
    iSync 2.0 should work for you, I never got my V600 to work with Panther (there was no support). As for the internet, I've never figured out how to make that work, it seems like the technology is there, but cell providers are being boogers allowing it to work or something. I don't know...I only wanted it to work because I have to know how to do all sorts of cool, mostly useless things :D (mostly useless for me at least...for others, I'm sure it's a goldmine feature!)
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I have a V551, which judging by the model numbers, has gotta be pretty similar. iSync works fine with it but I can't get the internet to work though
     
  5. jeffgtr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #5
    I have a V551 I can get Tiger to recoginze it but I can't download pictures from the phone to the computer. I'm hoping the Tiger update fixes this.
     
  6. yinyang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Location:
    sunny brisbane
    #7
    for the motorola modem scripts to allow you to use the phone to connect to the internet you go here...

    http://www.taniwha.org.uk/

    it's a bit of trial and error to work out exactly which script, but there aren't that many for the moto phones - my razr works well :)
     
  7. skybolt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, USA
    #8
    Actually, for my V551 I just called Cingular for the info I needed. Though they don't "support" macs, they have some folks in tier 3 who use macs and can give you the info you need. I have sync'd my phone via bluetooth and surfed the net at speeds similar to my DSL connection at home. If needed, respond and when I get home tonight I'll post the settings. Much simpler than rdowns' thread above. Took all of about 2 minutes to be up and surfing!
     
  8. rock6079 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #9
    I just got the v551 YESTERDAY! :) and i was able to getr it to work with bluetooth within probably 5 minutes, after i figured out how to turn bluetooth on on the phone and make it discoverable. from there i was able to access three folders.. video audio and pictures and drag and drop files to and from.

    as for isync.. that took a little more time. while you probably wont have this problem though, there was a problem in 10.4.0 with isynch not recognizing the v551 becuase it has newer firmware with a different id than what isync was looking for. while this was supposidly changed in 10.4.1 it still didnt work for me so i had to do the little hack mentioned in one of the threads here. though you shouldnt have that problem with isync.. howevero once i was able to get isync to work. it would sync and all and even say syncing on my phone yet it never actually put any of the contacts from my computer onto my phone and im pretty sure all the settings are correct.. anywase good luck. it should work relatively easy for you.
     
  9. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #10
    Glad it's working for you!

    For a number of these phones, the bottom line on whether it works or not has more to do with the wireless carrier than with the actual phone's capabilities, unfortunately. As a previous poster mentioned, Verizon intentionally cripples their phones to force their supplicants, er, I mean users, to use their pay services rather than do it for free using the phone's built-in capabilities. It's why I switched from Verizon to T-Mobile.
     
  10. RJP31484 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #11
    If you were to have a bluetooth phone, and use it as a bluetooth internet conection, would it use your minutes(and be free on nights and weekends) or would you need a data plan? also, I assume you would need an ISP account with dialup service?
     

Share This Page