Using boot camp's XP partition in parallels?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by odedia, Apr 22, 2006.

  1. odedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    Sorry if this was already posted, but I was wondering if i can use boot camp's XP partition as the image for parallels' virtual machine. I know that VMWare allows you to use an existing partition as the boot device, but i couldn't find a similar option in parallels (beta 4). the 80 gigs on my MBP are already getting to their final free gigabytes.

    Thanks!

    Oded S.
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Nope. Plus you would have the problem of Windows detecting and undetecting drivers (possibly leading to conflicts and sytem instability) everytime you went from Parralles to Dual Boot.... So it wouldnt work
     
  3. vamp07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    #3
    I bet we get this eventually. The switching driver issue can be dealt with. If it's only the video and sound drivers that need switching windows can handle those just fine between reboots.
     
  4. odedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #4
    Yeah, i'm pretty sure of it too. If not through parallels, definetly through VMWare. I was using this option happily when I was trying out OS X on my old PC, through dual boot and through vmware using the same partition.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    But OSX was probably able to handle switching drivers etc much better than Windows in its current (still harking back to DOS & Win95) state....

    Vista will probably handle it ok, though the amount of sacrafices they've already made to vista to speed up its development, I have a nagging feeling were just gonna end up with a prettier XP but with still some dll's and exe's from back in the day lurking around..:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page