Using Cell Phone as Modem

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by misam, May 1, 2006.

  1. misam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    #1
    I have been experimenting using bluetooth on my MacBook Pro to connect with my brothers RAZR and my dads BlackBerry. I am going to get a new phone soon, and am wondering what I need to use a phone as a bluetooth modem to connect anywhere? Can I get unlimited data coverage like my dad has on his BlackBerry? What carriers offer this service. Thanks guys,
    Sam
     
  2. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #2
    Verizon + cingular I know offer it. You can either buy a card from them or use your phone to bluetooth wirelessly connect. Youll get better dl speeds form the physical card (around 300kb at avg in the city) But costs are HIGH, usually at 59.00 all the way to 110.00.
    -dsm
     
  3. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Really, though, I'd suggest spending the extra money on a pcmci (or pcmcia) card and getting web service from Verizon. It probably wouldn't cost that much more than your dialup fees, and I KNOW it is a ton faster...

    But yeah. I played with it (using cell phone for internet connection) when I tour managed a couple years ago. It was expensive to add it to my service.
     
  4. poolin1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City,MO/Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    i just went in to sprint the other day to see how much it would be to activate the "data plan" on my evdo bluetooth sprint phone....40 bucks a month for 20mb of data! thats OUTRAGEOUS. other companies have unlimited data for that much. the card for evdo at sprint was just as much...


    go with a card though,, its way faster just because of the throughput on bluetooth hinders it
     
  5. misam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Near Seattle
    #5
    Since the MacBook Pro doesn't have a PC card slot I don't think a card is possible. Does anyone know if there is an express card from any service provider?
     
  6. Lyserjic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    Try T-Mobile. We have a specialized application at work in which we use Nokia 66xx series Bluetooth enabled phones as modems with a Windows CE type device. Our data speed requirements are not extreme however, and "dial-up" speeds are more than adequate for our needs.

    The T-Mobile data/internet ONLY service is like $29 a month, unlimited. We have no voice plan with the phones, so a voice call is like $0.25/min.

    Setting it up was a bit tricky, T-Mobile tech support was useless, Google was quite helpful. ;)

    Not sure what other plans T-Mobile has. Their data service in my area (Houston/SE Texas) has been great.

    -Lyserjic
     
  7. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #7
    Will it cost money to use my RAZR from Cingular to use it as a modem for my computer? I just want to see it in action:rolleyes:
     
  8. Dyuta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #8
    If your carrier is Verizon and you're in a Vcast area, you can get DSL speeds without a monthly charge. The catch is, it uses your airtime. I use my Motorola e815 to connect via BT as a BT modem.
     
  9. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #9
    And can you please explain to me what airtime is..:confused: :eek: ....... I don't get out much.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    If you're on a plan that gives you for example "10 free hours per month" then it'll eat into those "free" hours when you're connected to the Internet.
     

Share This Page