using f14, f15, f15 with expose?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by macstudent, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. macstudent macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #1
    I am currently using an apple pro keyboard with panther, and I was hoping to reassign expose to use f14, f15, f16 since the other fkeys are currently being used by a variety of applications.

    The problem is that in system prefences you can only select up to f13. I do realize you can use shift, alt, etc to a variety. But since i have these three keys on my keyboard, I might as well use them for this since i have never touched them before.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    I think F14 and F15 are taken by OS X for screen brightness...or at least I think that's how they work on my PowerMac...
     
  3. macstudent thread starter macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    they are not for the brightness on my formac display. I cannot find a instance where any program uses them
     
  4. LimeLite macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #4
    they are indeed reserved for screen brightness with the Apple displays. Since this is the case, Apple doesn't even bother making them an option for Exposé, I'm assuming.
     
  5. macstudent thread starter macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    I have the new apple keyboard that came with my g5, and there isn't a picture of them for screen brightness like there is on the ibooks or powerbooks. I will have to do some searching to find out how to enable access to these keys.

    Thanks
     
  6. Macette macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #6
    yes, i want this too - i use f9-f12 for quark, and my f13-f15 don't do anything (not even screen brightness, tho i'm using an apple display).

    anyway, i never need to do anything to my screen brightness... can't remember changing it in several years (ibook yes - powermac no). so why couldn't screen stuff be in the control panels, and leave those keys for expose?

    i LOVE expose.
     
  7. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #7
    isn't there a app that lets you re-assign keys to whatever you want? i can't remember it, but a serch at somewhere like versiontracker.com should turn something up.

    i also remember reading a while ago that there is some file you can edit to remap the keys on your keyboard, but that's a bit fiddly, and potentially dangerous. ;)

    i want to change the F9 & F10 keys on my PB to normal 'F' keys, instead of being for the backlit keyboard. i'd rather have to hold the 'fn' key to change the keyboard illumination than to use Expose. :rolleyes:

    oh well, people were complaining about the metalfized Finder windows, and now there's a fix for that... so i guess if people want to be able to use whatever F keys they want for Expose, then someone will make a fix for that as well. it's only a matter of time...
     
  8. macstudent thread starter macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    I have found that with some applications like phitunes (which allows keyboard shortcuts for playing songs in itunes) I am able to assign any fkey to it. Unfortunetly, only the f16 key will work. When I hit f14 and f15 nothing is recognized
     
  9. PowermacG5 macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #9
    hot corners

    use the corners with the mouse

    F keys waste of time
     
  10. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #10
    Re: hot corners

    i find the corners extremely annoyong. my guess is these other people do also if they WANT to use F keys. afterall, this thread is about using f keys to do this rather than alternatives to f keys.
     
  11. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Or, if you're using a multi-button mouse and have buttons to spare map it to your 3rd, 4th, 5th buttons...
     
  12. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #12
    i would like to use a mose, but it's already taken. i use it for forward & back and the scrollwheel is just for scrolling...

    using hotcorners annoys me as well. i don't mind it for activating a screensaver, but having 3 different corners, you'd have to move your mouse all over the place and it would be alot easier to use the F keys that are right next to each other.

    so i'm assuming that there is no way to use the F keys that are already taken by the system?
     
  13. donshank macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    F14,15&16

    on my display i never adjust brightness with the keyboard and those F14-16 keys just seem itching to be used with Expose - three modes, three keys!
    dang.
     

Share This Page