Using Front Row on MBA with Apple Remote

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Kenzembo1, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    #1
    I've decided to get a spec'd out 11" MacBook Air to replace my 13" MBP. I'll be using it alongside my 24" cinema display so that I can still enjoy a desktop experience when watching movies or editing photos where I need the larger screen real estate. Everyone is talking about how they miss the illuminated keyboard, but for me, the biggest loss (going from a MBP to MBA) is the ability to access Front Row conveniently with the Apple Remote.

    It probably sounds silly to most, but having the infrared sensor on the Pro and using Front Row to manage DVD movies, iTunes content, photos, etc. at a distance from my bedside was really a neat feature. This definitely won't keep me from purchasing the new Air, but it's a shame that technology can't be used on the Air as well.

    This raises another question- what use is the Apple Remote with the MacBook Air? Should I pitch it in when I sell my Pro or can I still use it somehow in conjunction with Keynote presentations, etc?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #2
    If you have an ipod touch, you can use that.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #3
    To answer your last question - the Apple Remote will not work with the 2010 MBA. (Unless you buy one of those USB Mira IR receivers - which seems to defeat the point of Apple's svelte little machine. ;)

    You also can't use Apple's "remote" application to control Front Row (AFAIK). You have to use an application like RowMote for the iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch for that.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #4
    What he said. You just need an iOS device, one of the numerous App Store apps, and WiFi.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    #5
    That's true, I do have an iPhone with the Remote application but the wifi connection is pretty weak at school (you would think it would be better). Ha I have to turn on my wireless printer and select the default wifi option to use the application :eek:
     
  6. Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #6
    Being able to use the Apple remote is now a pro feature in their laptops im afraid
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #7
    Airmouse works.. Just tried it.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    #8
    Thanks guys! I think I'll try Air Mouse or some other variation. Hopefully I can use that as a workable solution.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Spacekatgal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #9
    This actually doesn't work very well. I run 3000 miles a year, and over the winter a lot of it is on the treadmill. I spend a lot of time watching movies.

    The problem with the remote app is it has to connect to your machine every time you use it, meaning there's a delay. The other problem is, if you're using the external superdrive, it will not control a DVD. This is severely disappointing.

    I'm unsure how much battery power the IR port took, but I strongly wish Apple had kept it.

    Bri
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #10
    Delay? I don't know about you but the delay is utterly negligible. As for the DVD, as I said, airmouse will control most apps, including dvd player.


    [​IMG]
    photo.PNG by 350GT, on Flickr
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #11
    Is there any app that doesn't require wifi connection to use the iphone with a mac?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    That sounds physically impossible
     
  13. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #13
    Generally you use the iPhone as a remote when you're sitting in front of your mac. And WiFi is usually available, but if not, just make a network from your Macbook.

    If you're wanting to do so with Bluetooth, not possible atm since bluetooth usage is limited.

    And developers don't really see people wanting to control their computers over 3G unless it's a remote desktop/VNC type application.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    deedas

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #14
    Bluetooth?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    #15
    I heard that it's possible to use a Wii remote with the new Air. You can connect it via Bluetooth and configure it using a free app.

    Can anyone confirm this? I think there was a YouTube video posted doing this not too long ago. Also, I went to the Tech Desk at school to aid in my data transfer and the guy mentioned the Wii remote as a possible solution as well.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    Mi-Fi?

    MiFi is another alternate solution to use iphone as a remote;)
     

Share This Page