using Garageband with external microphone

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ero87, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I can't figure out how to use a new microphone with garageband. It plugs into the line-in part on my gf's MBP (the one next to the headphone port, right?), and i choose "Line-In" from the sound preference pane... but it's still using the internal mic when recording on garageband. I also remember trying to record with my guitar plugged into the comp, and that didn't work either.

    I'm clearly missing a step. Can someone help me out, please? Thanks!
     
  2. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #2
    Give it about 30 seconds to adjust. Sometimes I have to restart garageband a few times.
     
  3. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    :confused: i don't think that's the problem...
     
  4. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
  5. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    wow, MacRumors... any other ideas? don't let me down guys!
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Are you sure you have a line-level mic? Most mics have a much lower signal level than a standard line-in. You need a mixer to boost the signal. Cheap way around this is an iMic.
     
  7. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    what's example of something that's a "line-level" mic with a big enough signal? I was hoping it was just plug and play...
     
  8. calculus Guest

    calculus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #8
    Where are you changing the settings to line in? You need to do it in Garageband > Preferences > Audio/Midi ,not in the system preferences.
     
  9. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    When you switch the audio input in system prefs, are you getting plenty of response on the little bar graph? If so, your mic is probably fine.

    See also Calculus' tip.

    I have a MXL V63MBP, which is line-level. I think the difference is that line-level mics need their own power source (in my case, a battery).
     
  10. vortiz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #10
    M-Audio Producer USB

    hello MacRumors,

    I recently purchased an M-Audio Producer USB mic and when im using it with Garageband it picks up ALOT of feedback can anyone help me fix this problem? And im just hooking it up to my usb port and not using and audio interface could that be the problem if so, is there anyway to use the mic without an audio interface? Any feedback would really help thanks.
     
  11. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    This thread is two years old, I think you could have made a new one.
    Unless there is a way to remove the USB connection and get a regular XLR, you can't use it with a separate audio interface. What is usually known as an audio interface contains digital-analog converters and perhaps some preamps that you connect a mic to, with connections usually being TR/TRS and/or XLR.

    If it is feedback, and you know what feedback is, then you will know how to fix it. (Ie., set audio out to headphones and listen there.)
     

Share This Page