using ibook as a remote control??

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mrsoup, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. mrsoup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #1
    Hello all!!

    I have an 'old' G4 iMac (usb 2.0) with a pretty sweet audio set up that I can hear throughout my house.
    I just orderd and old school clamshell ibook (se) mostly for writing papers on the go. but I was wondering if any one knows how I can use it as a remote controll (over airport) to skip songs on my imac. this must be possible somehow...
    I cant afford an airport express right now.


    thanks for any ideas!!!
     
  2. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #2
    I can't really give you any advice, but am very impressed with your low end purchases. Keep it up! Those old machines can still give a lot of performance.
     
  3. mrsoup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #3
    well I bought the imac when it was brand new...
    and I bought the ibook because its cheap and im a starving med student.

    Im one of the weird people that buys computers to use them, not like some of the mac geeks that need to buy the latest hardware to compensate for their lack of a social life.
     
  4. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #4
    Can't comment on the airport idea but I use an old PDA with Sailing Clicker - have a google on it but it's cheap and very very customisable.
     
  5. mrsoup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #5
    thanks for the tip.
    I looked in to salling clicker, It looks cool. too bad my cell phone isnt blue tooth. and the only pda i have is that old newton Ive been using to keep the coffee table level.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I'm tempted to make a comment about being one of those weird people who knows how to use Google.... ;)

    But that aside:

    iTunes Remote Control is an option if your Macs run Tiger (or if perhaps Panther if you search for an older version).

    This solution should work on any computer that has a working Apache installation (which, I believe, is any version of OS X, although I'm not sure if early versions had Apache, since I started with Panther mid-cycle...). Notably, you can do this on Windows as well...
     
  7. mrsoup thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #7
    Thanks man, looks good.
    when I googled all I could find was third party remote control hardware for presentations and what not.

    thanks for the help!



     
  8. CyberB0b macrumors regular

    CyberB0b

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #8
    Apple Remote Desktop would work. Personally I use VNC applications to share my desktop over the network. That way I can control iTunes or any application on other computers from my laptop.
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Solution!

    feed://osx.iusethis.com/new_apps.rss

    NetTunes is EXACTLY what you are looking for.
     

Share This Page