Using iChat

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DarkNetworks, Jul 20, 2005.

  1. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    Can i use iChat without having a .Mac account?
    I think it is not possible but i'm not too sure..need confirmation...
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    You can use an AIM account if you don't have .Mac.
     
  3. cardiac dave macrumors regular

    cardiac dave

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    iToronto
    #3
    You can just sign-up for the trial .mac account. Your username stays active after the trial runs out.
     
  4. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #4
    which means i still can use iChat even if i don't continue to subscribe to .Mac after the trial period?
     
  5. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    Yes, infact you can use your .mac member name. It's the only thing that works after the trial period ends.
     
  6. ja0912 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    #6
    There's no benefit to using an .Mac name though.
    Just use the same old AIM SN you've been using for years.
     
  7. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #7
    yeah, you can use your aim sn just like normal... though if your sending files to other users, like pc users, send it by dragging the file to their screen name on your buddy list window.. i find it works the best that way..
     

Share This Page