Using Imac 24" as a Monitor

Discussion in 'Games' started by AppleinJapan, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. AppleinJapan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    #1
    Hi, Living in a small house in japan is kinda bad so Is there a way that I could use my iMac 24" as a monitor so I can play my Xbox/playstation etc etc ?

    Like PIP ??? Thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    1. No
    2. EyeTV devices do have SOME delay. Even if it is in milliseconds.
     
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    eyetv does sell devices now marketed towards games now - so maybe now itll work?
     
  4. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #4
    Look at Elgato's Eye TV devices (get one that has a gaming mode, like the Hybrid).
     
  5. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #5
    if they have a mode that reduces the latency, why don't they just reduce the latency across the board?

    or does it not really work?

    or does it lower the quality in order to get the latency down?

    or does it cost more?
     
  6. Schmittroth macrumors regular

    Schmittroth

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, Astoria-Queens
    #6
    Latency in DVR devices comes when the signal you watch has already been written and then read off the hard drive. Skiping the hard drive will remove the latency and the signal goes straight to the display. So you can play games, you just can't record them without any extra latency. Tivo and high end stand alone DVRs have solved this. Probably splitting the signal or something.

     
  7. AppleinJapan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for your suggestions !
    I just dont have enough room for both my TV and computer now (its on the kitchen table - I'll check out the local Apple resellers in Akihabara now that I know what to look for...
     
  8. fall3n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #8
    Go for the 250 at least, that way it's hardware decoding which, if you do end up recording tv shows, will/should make it seamless. Let us know what your results are as i want to do the same as you.
     
  9. SteveG4Cube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    MontCo., PA
    #9
    Buy a Firewire DV converter and input the signal, then run a video capture program that allows full screen viewing of the live image.
     
  10. pionata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #10
    Eye tv 250-hybrid would work but only in standard resolution.
     

Share This Page