Using imac G5 (isight) as a monitor...can it be done? or am i just crazy

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by biohazard6969, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #1
    ok, i know i've heard that it can't be done, but i'm hoping that maybe now it can....i'm wondering if it is possible to use my imac as a display, hook it to a kvm switch, have a pc under my desk and run both the imac and PC off of the imac's monitor. i'm almost positive that this can't be done seeing as the imac has no input like that but i just thought i'd ask. this is one feature i would LOVE to see in future revisions of the imac and it would definitely make me ugrade
     
  2. macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Well, if you're willing to hack apart the iMac, find the DVI cable, and splice in your own wires, you're more than welcome to turn your iMac into a monitor, otherwise, you're stuck with it as a normal computer. :p
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Re: Using imac G5 (isight) as a monitor...can it be done? or am i just crazy

    Easy answer...

    Yes, you are crazy.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    And addressed several times over already in MR (Although this may be a first for the iSight verision)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #5
    crap thats what i thought...oh well, not quite THAT desperate to hack it apart but thx

    hmmmm thanks....
     
  6. macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Not totally crazy...I mean I've wanted to turn my iMac G3 into an extra monitor for years now...I'd be using it right now and it wouldn't be in my closet if I could use it as a secondary monitor.:D
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #7
    i know but its hard to search ffor somthing like this, with keywords such as imac, G5, monitor, display it still turns up a ton of results
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    You can't use the iMac as a monitor, but you can use Microsoft Remote Desktop to use the PC from the Mac assuming you're running Windows XP Pro on the PC. I use my PC that way occasionally, and it works really well.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    biohazard6969

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    toronto canada
    #9
    yeah but u can't do that for games and stuff, just basically browsing for files right?
     
  10. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    Well, you did ask.

    And you deserved an anwer to the question. ;)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #11
    Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection works fine from the iMac for ordinary Windows applications (e.g., Office apps) running on the Windows PC, even for ordinary games like Solitaire. However, most Windows powerhouse games use DirectX to write directly to the Windows PC's video memory, and Remote Desktop Connection doesn't support it.

    This solution also works for remote Citrix connections through your PC, which is convenient if your work site is Windows only, and you work from home occasionally. Then, you can access your Windows PC, which is configured to connect remotely to your office network using Citrix, via your Mac. When your Windows home work PC is a 12" laptop, and you have a 20" iMac, this is a great home connectivity solution, since the Remote Desktop Connection client gives you the full 20" of screen real estate to use.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #12
    You could use something like EyeTV (or any other FW image input device) to connect your PC's video out to the iMac, crappy resolution though.
    There might exist some kind of device that lets you input VGA...

    Buying a second monitor will probably be cheaper ;)
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #13
    It's been a while since I cracked open a G3 case but if memory serves all it takes is a cable (with the right adapter) to your desktop.

    You may need to cut a hole in the back but it should be possible from what I recall seeing.

    This link has photos of the disassembly.
    http://www.macworld.com/2001/10/bc/howtoimac/
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #14
    I've been wanting to do this for a while, even the wire hack sounds tempting to me :eek:

    Surely some clever guy should be able to reverse the VGA out with a haxies?
     

Share This Page