using internal Hard Drive as an external HD...

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by cb911, Aug 5, 2002.

  1. macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #1
    i am down to my last 2GB of HD space, so i desprately need a bigger HD. i've got a 667 TiBook, and it's only got the 30GB (27GB formatted) HD. i could get a 60GB internal to replace the 30GB, but that would cost a bit. my other option is to get a external HD, or an iPod, but that would cost as well.

    so i was thinking, is there any way i could use a internal HD sort of like a external HD? it would be alot cheaper- AU$200 for an 80GB HD.
    could i have a internal just sitting in an empty tower, with adapters so i could use it as a firewire HD? is there any way i could get a internal HD to hook up to my Mac, just so i can back stuff up?
    it doesn't matter how complex or obscure the idea of how to make it work, just post it. i just might be desprate enough to do it!;) :p :eek:
     
  2. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    Re: using internal Hard Drive as an external HD...


    Hmm... is there a way for an internal HD to work like an external HD....

    The answer is yes... and the answer includes an enclosure/bridge chip/powersupply.

    I'm not sure why you think you have to go through so many hoops... enclosure/firewirecase/power costs about $100 US. Maybe cheaper.

    arn

    arn
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    ok, thaks arn!

    i'll have a look around for all that stuff. enclosure, bridge chip and power supply- now i know what to look for, thanks.:D
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #4
    there are several firewire and USb enclosures for ide drives out there, many work without drivers, all as one unit.
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    If you can, look for an enclosure using the Oxford 911 chipset. It's the best chipset out there for external FW HDDs.


    Lethal
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #6
    ok, got it. adding to my list- Oxford 911 chipset.

    know any links where i could find out more about this stuff? like a article on how to put one of these together?
    and more importantly, what are some good Australian sites with all this kind of stuff?
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7

    Yer making this more complicated than it is. All you do is buy a firewire enclosure and put yer HDD inside of it. Here is an example of what you want.


    Lethal
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #8
    thanks LethalWolfe!

    that's exactly what i needed!:)

    but does anyone know an Australian site i could get it from? it would be a pain to get it from the US.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    #9
    hey cb - i am here in Aus and I have a clearlight firewire enclosure with a 10 gb 2.5 inch hdd I am lookin to sell - anyway if you wanna email me I can tell you anything you want about firewire HDs - I have to say they are brilliant - I had a USB ORB drive that took 70 minutes to copy 2 GB - the 9GB Firewire takes about 8 minutes - would be even faster if i spent $50 on a power supply rather than use the port power. I even used to run different OSs on the firewire drive and boot directly from it .

    Don't think this is a sales pitch - I am just very impressed with them.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #10
    hey datalok

    where did you get your HD from? a store or a website? know any online Aus places with all that kind of stuff?
     
  11. macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #11
    Hey cb911, if you put your internal hard drive outside your computer, what are you going to use inside the computer??

    As for adding space/storage, why not get the external firewire enclosure for a 3-1/2" hard drive and use that to keep your files/data??? You could pick up whatever 3-1/2" ATA hard drive you want and toss it into the case. It's NOT a difficult thing to do either, and you could easily install a 120GB or 160GB drive into that case. The enclosures typically sell for about $100 (for a good one). I actually have a 40GB drive sitting inside this one and it works great (when I connect it and use it).

    I'd say, leave the drive you have inside the PowerBook and just add storage to the firewire bus... that's what it's there for. :p :D
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #12
    i'm not going to take out the HD i have in my Mac, i was think of getting a external FW case and putting a regular HD in it, thus making an external HD.

    but i'm having second thoughts about that now. it looks like the FW case would be about AU$200, and i want a decent size HD, so i'll probably go for a 80GB. and the cheapest HD i could find is about AU$350. that makes it a total of AU$550 and i could get an external 80GB FW HD for AU$470!! here's the one i'm talking about: http://www.palaeographics.com.au/cgi-pg/webc.cgi/st_prod.html?p_prodid=1212&sid=3G1muFhx
    i've still got to find out a bit more about the IceCube, but so far it looks like that's the easiest and cheapest way to go.
     

Share This Page