Using iPhone without a Sim Card

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Husker41082, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #1
    Hello all, new to the forums here but have been keeping tabs on the iPhone 3g since it's release. Finally am within days away from pulling the trigger and picking one up. My question that I've had a hard time find an answer to is this.

    I'm planning on going on my honeymoon to Jamaica in a couple of weeks and was wondering if I take the sim card out of the iPhone if it will work basically just like and iPod Touch. Have heard of to many horror stories about International roaming rates and data charges. Basically want to use my iPhone on the plane down there and back. Obviously won't need it while I'm down there because I'll have plenty to do.

    Thanks in advance and hopefully i'll be a regular contributor soon :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #2
    u can leave the sim card in, just put it in airplane mode. jus a wifi ipod then
     
  3. macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #3
    Yes you can.


    Or you can put it in Airplane mode, which disconnects it from cell networks, through software
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #4
    Ok, so airplane mode, the only thing that worries me is if somehow that gets turned off then my phone will be using a bunch of data without me realizing it. Unless, correct me if I'm wrong, I am under the assumption there is no way to completly turn off the iphone, just sleep mode.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    ryanwarsaw

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #5
    Change the APN in your settings to one that doesn't exist. If you do that there is no way it can access data from a network that doesn't exist. Make sure you note those settings for when you want to connect again.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #6
    if u have data roaming off AND airplane mode on, you'll be fine.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #7
    I'm from egypt, and have a friend who lives in USA and has a plan with AT&T..He is telling me that the new iphone 3G doesn't have a place to put a sim card inside, and he is coming to egypt soon and wondering if it can work in egypt as it is offered here by Vodafone, so any clue?..Does the new iphone really doesn't have a place for a sim card?..cuz as for my knowledge it can't work here in egypt except with a sim card and a plan from vodafone...or can he use it in egypt with a plan from vodafone and then when he returns back to the US he uses his AT&T plan??
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    theDUB

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    SLT, CA
    #8
    ^^^^

    I have no idea about using different international plans, but I can tell you that iPhone has a sim card, see picture for its location.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page