Using .mac mail aliases with mail app?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diatribe, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #1
    As the title says, is it possible to use the .mac aliases with the mail app? Or can I just do that via webmail. If so, it would destroy the purpose of having them in the first place...
     
  2. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #2
    Has no one tried this yet or knows whether and if, how this works?

    Yesterday I got it to send an email but it keeps telling me in that pop up that the account information is wrong, so I don't even know how I got it to send the email but it did.
    It would be really nice if someone could give some insight.
     
  3. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #3
    It works...

    you need to create a new account for that alias, not as a .mac but as pop, because there you can edit the "E-mail address field", the rest of the settings will be exactly at the original .mac account, (POP and SMTP servers) , that way when you write an E-mail, you are able to select the E-mail you write from ...
     
  4. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #4
    I have 2 .Mac email at same time in Mail, and one is an alias.

    Under preferences-> Accounts you can add a new account, make it a .Mac and make the outgoing name whatever you want. Its very easy.

    Is this what you meant?
     
  5. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #5
    Thanks, I will try that. Seems plausible.
     
  6. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #6
    This is what I tried and did not work. As soon as I make it a .mac account it constantly tells me that the password/account name is wrong.
    How did you get it to work this way?
     
  7. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #7
    I still cannot get it to work. If I add it as a pop account it will download every mail, not just the ones for that alias and I am still not able to send mail.
    Aaargh I am getting aggravated. :D HELP!!!
     
  8. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #8
    Do not use an Incoming Mail Server for the alias, deselect the "Include when automatically checking for new Email", in Rules, prepare a filter
    "If to contains ________" "Move message to mailbox (Alias)" ... tricky but bingo! I hope... good luck!
     
  9. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I think you have to set it up from the website www.mac.com rather than your Mail app.

    Edit: Yeah, go to preferences then accounts and it's a cinch.
    Squire
     
  10. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #10
    Wooooohoooooo. :D

    I finally got it to work. Awesome. *HAPPY* Hehe wheeew this is good.
    Thanks for all the help. Now I only need 500 megs of email storage. :D
     
  11. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #11
    If anyone wants to know HOW EXACTLY it works, just ask and I will post it.
     
  12. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I thought we were the ones who just told you how it worked. ;)

    Or are you referring to something else?

    Squire

    P.S. Sorry. I wanted to reply to something other than a "New iMac G5 Announced" thread.
     
  13. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #13
    We? *cough* :D ... Read the thread ... ;) J/K

    P.S Sorry. I wanted to reply to something else too... :p
     
  14. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    But...a few different people...I mean...I tried...your instructions...

    Never mind. ;) (Goes back to reading 15 pages of new iMac posts)

    Squire
     
  15. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #15
    :D :p
    It is definitely not as easy as it seems. :D
    And there are some things to watch out for with the account name etc. since you cannot just name it the same. But if everybody knows... great. Then I guess I was the only unillumined. :D
     
  16. awmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    #16
    Please explain

    I just set up an alias for my wife and would like that to be the only mail she gets on her macbook. Please detail how you made this work. Thanks!!
     
  17. Diatribe thread starter macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #17
    Wow, way to dig up an old thread ;)

    Aliases are built into mail.app now but let me see if I understand you correctly. You have set an alias under your account and want that alias to work on your wife's macbook? If that is it this won't work as the master account will still get the mails. You would need a e-mail only account for her so you can differentiate it.
     

Share This Page