Using Parallels to run XP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by monty77, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. monty77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    UK, South Coast
    #1
    ...I have boot camp working great, XP is pretty zippy! Moreso than OSX until I get the other Gb stick installed.

    Can't get parallels to work though ... how do you make it boot from the CD to install windows? A screenshot of the parallels setup for the CD device would be ideal ...

    Cheers,
    Adam

    PS: It's an iMac if that's of any use.
     
  2. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    I couldnt get an actual Win XP install disk to work either with beta 1, i heard it was a bug and beta 2 of parallels may have fixed this, but in the end i made an iso image of the CD, pointed parallels at that and it worked fine.
     
  3. monty77 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    UK, South Coast
    #3
    ..maybe I'm running beta 1 then.

    That was plan b, what did you use to make the iso image?

    Thanks!
    Adam
     
  4. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    Several ways.. i think Toast can do it.

    Or use Mac OS Disk Utility, slap the Windows CD in with Disk Utility running.

    File / New / Disk image from (name of disc), Give it a name.

    Choose DVD/CD master for Image Format, no encryption.

    This will give you a .dmg (or maybe a .cdr i forget)

    Anyway, im pretty sure you can just rename the extension to .iso and your done.

    On the VM configuration window inside parallels (assuming youve done the wizard and created the basics of the VM, ram, hd size etc), click CD/DVD-ROM 1, then choose Use Image File and browse to set the Image File: box to point to the iso you created.

    Save the VM config, hit play and your hot to trot.
     
  5. monty77 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    UK, South Coast
    #5
    Thanks!

    ...Parallels 2.1 works fine now but the ISO tip is very useful too.

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  6. Argelius macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #6
    Trying to install XP from an iso file...

    This thread may be long dead, but...

    I have a copy of WINXP as an iso file.

    I launched Paralles purchased copy) and pointed it to the CD-Drive to begin the installation process.

    It progressed until the point where I got a DOS prompt: [DR-DOS] A:\>

    I entered "D:\" to get back to the CD-Drive and when I do a "dir", I see the "WINXP.ISO" file.

    Anyone know what I should do next? I've exausted my DOS command knowledge....
     
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    hmm, looks like you don't have a bootable ISO, but I'm not sure how you would boot into DOS on a clean hard drive (virtual or otherwise). Where did you get the ISO? What were the exact steps you took to get to that point?
     

Share This Page