Using RCA With OS X

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by cmaracz88, Oct 15, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
    I have just recieved a new Mac compatible RCA MP3 player. The manual however says nothing about using it with OS X (even though it says that it's OS X compatible). The website simply says that the way to transfer music is to drag and drop. However I have connected the player using USB and it doesn't show up on the desktop nor the finder window. So I'm confused as to how to do this.

    As for anyone who plans to buy an RCA you might want to reconsider, their service and support is horrible at best. There is no phone support. There is a self service support centre which speaks nothing about Macs. There is no address to get repairs at either, you have to e-mail them and wait a week or more for a response (maybe they hope at least a percentage of people with problems will have their warranties expire in that week). But you can't anyways because you need to select the OS you are using when sending the e-mail and OS X is not included. Plus, they are idiots, they made the update that fixes issues with using the player with OS X in .exe
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    rhpenguin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #2
    RCA isnt good man... Every RCA item ive ever owned has crashed and burned.

    I sugest calling them a lot till they do something about it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #3
    Hahaha those almost clever bastards rigged the e-mail system so that you can't send the form at all. If you select an OS that they allow it asks you what problem you're having, and if the problem is one they cover it takes you to a screen which asks what software you're using, and each of those links lead to a page which says to contact the software company.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    ScottDodson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    What type of RCA mp3 player is it?? It may make it easier for people to try and find drivers, 3rd pary, or support for it. I ran accross a few forums through google discussing the same problems...but I had no idea what player you had to compare.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    Re: Using RCA With OS X

    The .exe may be a zip format. Try expanding it using Stuffit Expander.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #6
    I am uisng the RD1021, and if it means anything when I go to system profiler it doesn't even show the device under USB devices when it's connected.

    As to the above poster, no it's not a .zip file. I tried what you said.
     

Share This Page