Using WPA on Linksys WRT54G?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ITASOR, Dec 26, 2005.

  1. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #1
    So, I finally got tired of having a no-security wireless access point in my house, so I set up WPA. Everything worked good. Set up my iBook, DELL, sister's Averatec laptop.

    My dad comes home and turns on his Toshiba Satellite laptop and it says something about it being encrypted. It gives the password field, and security type menu. The menu only has WEP and something else...no WPA.

    Am I stuck using WEP (hate using the ID numbers, I like how WPA uses whatever you make)? I'll probably go back to using nothing *sigh*.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Lots of Windows hardware does not support WPA...so it's definitely possible. But what's the something else on the list?
     
  3. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    WPA can sometimes have other strange names that companies seem to think are special and cool. Though I can't recall any of them now, I have heard a few. You should check the other item on the list.
     
  4. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    Have you checked out the latest drivers on the Toshiba support website?

    I had the WEP only problem with our 2 year old HP laptop. I had to go to the HP support site and install the latest wireless drivers, to give me WPA.
     
  5. ITASOR thread starter macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #5
    Thanks guys, I'll definitely look into upgrading the drivers for the card. I know he runs Windows update a lot, so I guess that isn't updating the drivers for that.

    I gotta wait until he gets home to get the model number...then I'll look.
     
  6. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #6
    I know that the initial release of XP didn't support WPA encryption. Make sure you're running SP2.

    That's what happened to a friend of mine.

    Although you said the computer has Windows update run on it a lot, so that may not be your issue.

    My roommate has a Toshiba Satellite and it works well with WPA encryption.
     

Share This Page