Using your cellphone to get online w/a mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by faithfulFrank, Jun 20, 2006.

  1. faithfulFrank macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I'm not sure that forum to post this on, but this one is pretty active.
    Around here, most everyone has Verizon for their cellphones. Guys at work at the firehouse will use their verizon phones to hook up their laptops to the internet using verizon as the isp.
    My phone is an LG, and the cord to do this is easy to buy. The problem is that verizon says the software for doing this is windows only.

    Is there any way to do this with my powerbook? Verizon is no help.

    Thanks, Frank D.
     
  2. thumb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #2
    There is, I do it (verizon + E815 moto), and it is great.

    it will depend on your particular phone. go to howardforums.com then the room with verizon, and within that, LG. search for DUN (dial up networking) and your phone model. should be easy. not all phones will work though, fyi.

    cheers
     
  3. faithfulFrank thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #3
    thank you Thumb!
    I was thinking that I needed verizon's software to do this. From what you say, I do not, and that there is a third party software that will allow me to hook up.
    I'm sure my phone does, but I will check.
    I am more conserned about the software to do it then the wire that connects my phone to the powerbook.

    Thanks, Frank D.
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Basically you just need a modem script for Verizon, and you use the Network portion of System Preferences to set it up. I believe a Verizon or was it Motorola script is included, but you can find the script for your particular phone on the net pretty easily, if one is available.
     
  5. thumb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #5
    hi frank,

    i dont think you will need any software, your mac should have all the drivers necessary.

    i do this over bluetooth, so i have no experience with using a cable. make sure you get the right cable, they can be very very specific to work with a mac.

    it will also depend if you are using an evdo equiped phone. much much faster but a violation of service agreement unless you pay $80 a month.

    good luck
     

Share This Page