Various installers won't run

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by colinet, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. colinet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm having problems trying to install various bits of software. The Canon scanner software (for my N1240U) and various PD FTP programmes. When I double click on the installers there is a flicker from the icon and a brief flicker on the icon bat and then nothing. I know it's not the drivers because the scanner worked under Panther via PS7 when I upgraded 10.2.8 to 10.3. HOW I WISH I handn't then reformatted the drive and done a clean install!!!

    It's onbviouxsly the installer intself that won't work under Panther.
     
  2. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #2
    Try the following.

    Restart your computer and try it.

    Repair disk permissions.

    Delete the installer then do a find for anything related to it (prefs, application support, etc.) then delete them. As long they aren't obviously system installed files.

    Re-download the installer.
     
  3. j33pd0g macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #3
    My Canon scanner with the N1240U works fine in Panther. The installer worked like it should. I did an upgrade first, but then I had lots of trouble, so then I did a clean install and now everything is fine.
     
  4. colinet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    What computer are you using? I'm on a Dual G5 but when I tried to install the software on my wife's G3/300 iMac ( also with Panther ) I had exactly the same problem. Which version/type/program of Canon's software are you using? I downloaded the latest versions off the Canon USA site - i'm in Australia I wonder if the software on the Austrlian site is different - doubt it but i'll check.

    I just bought VueScan - which works perfectly - but i'm annoyed I had to pay cash to use my scanner.
     
  5. j33pd0g macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #5
    colinet, I am using CanoScan Toolbox 4.1, and I am using PS 7.0.1 with the ScanGear CS 7.0X plug-in. Actually both of these apps are using the same plugin just fine.
     
  6. colinet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Panic Over - Just downloaded a different installer which has worked fine. Just after I paid for Vue Scan - bugger!!!

    Thanks for the advice, everyone. now I can scan our new 10 year old foster daughter's photos for her.
     
  7. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #7
    Good to hear you got it working. Just goes to show that a little communication is always good before jumping to conclusions. When things break after installing a new system it's always easy to blame the new system but a lot of the time I find it has nothing to do with it just a horrible coincidence.
     

Share This Page