vBulletin install question...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Les Kern, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    I purchased vBulletin and set up a new server just for it. (10.3.9)
    I downloaded the newest version of MySQL, installed it carefully.
    I downloaded the newest version of vBulletin and again, installed it carefully. (the correct version of vB for 10.3.9)
    Below are a few of the terminal/text edit shots. Note that the db "forum_database" exists, and the permissions are set correctly.
    When I come to the last step, "log into www.me.com/forums/install/install.php" it wants simply to download the install file, not access it to begin the config. (FYI: the php files are in /Library/Documents/forums/)
    What the HECK am I missing?
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    Check to see if these lines are in (and uncommented) in your Apache's httpd.conf file:

    LoadModule php4_module libexec/httpd/libphp4.so
    AddModule mod_php4.c
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Make sure everyone has access to execute install.php, i'm not sure *exactly* how permissions should be set, but if it's downloading the file rather than running it it could be an permissions problem.

    Also try putting a file called phpinfo.php in your doc root, with just this text in it.
    PHP:
    <? phpinfo() ?>
    Just a quick way to ensure than PHP is up and running.
     
  4. Les Kern thread starter macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    They are.
     
  5. Les Kern thread starter macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #5
    Wants to download THAT file too.
    YIKES.
     
  6. Moria macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  7. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #7
    Also make sure the following lines are also present and uncommented in the httpd.conf file:

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps


    ...and that you've restarted Apache after making any changes. ;)
     
  8. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #8
    Doah! :eek: Thanks for catching that. :)
     
  9. Les Kern thread starter macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #9
    I Am An Idiot!

    It was a typo on my part, farther down in the config file. A BIG typo.

    Thanks for ALL of your help. I appreciate it.
     
  10. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005

Share This Page