Verizon DSL

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Hunts121, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. Hunts121 macrumors regular

    Hunts121

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    my grandparents have just purchased DSL and are attempting to set it up without my help. So I am asking those with DSL (they have verizon), the package includes 5 DSL filters, do you use them on all your phones/accessories or just the one plugged in via the splitter for the DSL modem? I have cable so I don't know as much about DSL and can't see the package to tell them what to do.
     
  2. Cfg5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I set up my DSL service a couple months ago. My manual said not to put any filters any the line going to the modem and just put filters on telephones or any accessories. It's....

    DSL modem - no filter
    anything else - filter
     
  3. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    Yep. I have Verizon DSL and thats how it works. My setup package came with a huge poster describing how to do it lol.
     
  4. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
  5. Hunts121 thread starter macrumors regular

    Hunts121

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    sorry should have clarified I know not to put one on the line going to the modem, it came with a splitter and it says to plug that into one of them which is going to a phone, NOT the modem :)

    I guess what I want to know is all the other phones in their house need to use one of those filters correct?
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Yes. If you don't have enough, they are about $3 at Radio Shack. DSL runs on a different frequency than POTS (plain old telephone service). That is way they can run on the same wire. The problem is that when you listen to a phone, you can hear the unwanted frequencies of DSL making the call very staticy. The filters block out frequencies that DSL uses, but POTS does not. This leaves your call as clear as if their was no DSL on the line. Even faxes devices such as faxes should have filter. Some people find a filter on a fax does nothing. Other fine that the unwanted frequencies disrupt the data send in the fax. I'm not going to lie. There is much more going on than this, but this one of the biggest reasons you need filters.
     
  7. Hunts121 thread starter macrumors regular

    Hunts121

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7

    cool thats all i wanted to know, yeah theres enough, the kit came with 5, thanks for your help
     
  8. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    You're welcome. Hope all goes well. :)
     
  9. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    What I did was split the telephone line in the basement. I then plugged a splitter into the DSL router. Then I plugged the outside line into one jack of the splitter. The other jack has a filter and that feeds the rest of the house. It's nice not to have all of those filters all over the place.
     

Share This Page