Versiontracker on crack?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Rajj, Oct 19, 2002.

  1. Rajj macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #1
    This don't happen all the time...but when I try to download some things of of version tracker I get this (see image below) what is this suff and how can I get around it?:confused: :mad: :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      51.1 KB
      Views:
      139
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I get that sometimes to, I get it now in Chimera with the like u provided. You just need to right click the link and save target.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Sorry to dbl post, but...

    At the download screen it starts your download automatically, but there is also a link to start the download, that's what you right click:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    In answer to the "what is this stuff" part of your question, it is the program you are trying to download. The problem is that your web browser is displaying the content instead of saving it to a disk file. The content of a program is a binary file, and trying to interpret it as text produces all the funny characters.

    I think the problem occurs because versiontracker (or, in general any web server) is returning the wrong Content-Type (also called MIME type) in the HTTP header. The web server is saying "here comes your file, which is of type text/plain", when it should have said "here comes your file, which is of type application/octet-stream" (or some other non-displayable data format).
     
  5. Rajj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #5
    Thanx for the info and quick response!!

    And edesignuk, how did you do that text like that? In Photoshop or Illustrator?
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Just a very quick photoshop, hense the crappy arrow :p
     
  7. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #7
    You do know the line tool in Photoshop has an arrowhead option, right? ;)

    P.S. This has never happened to me with versiontracker. Then again, I've always used IE, so maybe that's got something to do with it...
     
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Actually, no, I didn't :eek: I very rarely use it....as you can probably see ;) :D
     
  9. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #9
    Yeah, it is probably that and not version tracker being on crack :D:D:D.
     

Share This Page