Very Quck RAM question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by aminadab, May 7, 2006.

  1. aminadab macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1
    Ok, I'm ordering a 17" Macbook Pro next week. I want to have the RAM ready to go when I get it, but: crucial doesn't have an option for the 17". Will the 15" option work? I'm sure it will, but I want to avoid a silly mistake. Also, any other venders I should look at? 1gb at Crucial is less than apple, but it ain't cheap.
     
  2. SuperSnake2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    The 15" and the 17" use the same memory, no worries :p

    Datamem sells memory a lot cheaper than Crucial and is highly recommended around here.
     
  3. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    OK, so you guys have it totally cased - and in like 7 minutes... ;) Just listen to Heb and SuperSnake - they have it right.
     
  5. aminadab thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
  6. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #6
    Hey its not easy to beat CanadaRAM to a memory thread.. you'd think he has sensors in those horns or something!
     
  7. mmcxiiad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #7
    i have bought ram from a lot of retailers, but no one matches crucials lifetime warranty. they have gone out of their way for me on many claims. best one was where they swaped out chips to make sure that the chips matched for a server. they are great and worth a slight price difference.
     
  8. SuperSnake2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    NY
  9. Badandy macrumors 68040

    Badandy

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Terminus
    #9
    and datamem has great support and guaranteed to work with macs...


    you are just getting a name from crucial (and good ram, but that is also true with datamem)
     

Share This Page