Very slow loading on ATV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by CatsTide, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #1
    I just recently put an ATV in my daughters room and it loads extremely slow. A 2 minute vid takes several minutes to load. A 25 minute show took 10 to 15 minutes to load. I'm not even sure if a movie would load at all. My ATV in the living room is connected directly to my router so my loading is only seconds. I have a Netgear N600 router which should be able to handle the video stream very well. The room is only about 30ft or so and a wall away from the router.
    What could be the problem?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #3
    What type of files mkv or mp4?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #4
    One, please don't bump your post.

    Two, has the signal strength? Where are you loading the content from?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #5
    mp4
    thanks for the bump tip!
    Good signal strength...content from LaCie HD via MacBook Air
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #6
    I really didn't ask the question very clearly. :eek: Of course they're mp4 because that's all the aTV will use. My real questions are: 1) is the source dvd or BR, 2) were they repackaged or transcoded, 3) have they been optimized?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #7
    mic,it seems to be all the media. Even music takes forever to load. I tried to play a song and it took several seconds...maybe a minute to load it. All the content works fine on my wired ATV but the wireless one has the problem. Some of the vids are DVD,BR and downloads.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    Which ATV?

    Swap the two ATVs, see if the problem persists.

    Change the WiFi from 5 to 2.4 GHz or vice versa.

    Best bet, run an Ethernet cable.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #9
    Yeah...I cringe at the thought of having to run a cable. I'll try swapping to 2.4 to see if that helps,then I'll try swapping the ATV's.

    ----------

    They are both ATV 3's
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    Well, if even your music is slow to load, yes, there must be a more systemic problem. Your router is dual band. Are you sure it is using the wireless n band? Can you provide a specific data rate between the MB and aTV? Can you provide signal/noise measurement? Have you done a factory reset on the slow aTV? Any info on your how your system is working (other than "good signal strength") can only help with figuring out the source of the problem.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #11
    You could get an Aiport Express and use it as a wireless extender. I'm not sure if its signal strength or not though. As you said strength is good, it may not be that. Definitely switch the two and try it though, because it could be the Apple TV. You could try restoring the software on iTunes too, that may help.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #12
    All good suggestions, even the ethernet. But unless you have some sort of interference limiting your data rate, an ethernet should not be needed as a permanent fix. I have my MBP on a different floor than my aTV/router, get marginal signal strength and I have no problem streaming BR's using wifi.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #13
    Good questions...The only one I can answer is "Have you done a factory reset on the slow ATV". No I haven't. It's new out of the box first time set up. I did do the software update on it.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #14
    Well, swap'em out and see if is the unit or the network. If it's the unit, do the reset. Then first test wired, then move to wireless.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #15
    Sweet! Got it working...On my wireless network I have a Netgear41 and a Netgear41-5G...I had my MacBook Air and the ATV on the Netgear41-5...switched the MBA to the Netgear41 and BAM! it started working. As far as I know the ATV is still set to the Netgear41-5g...I didn't even check because it was working.

    ----------

    Thanks for the help guys!
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #16
    I also have a dual band router and have noticed that streaming and Airplay from my MacBook Pro works much better when the MacBook is on the 2.4 band and the ATV is on the 5 band.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #17
    Wow...good to know
     

Share This Page