VGA Display Adapter

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by musicpyrite, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #1
    Long story short: I picked up 17" monitor from my school that was throwing it away, I think the monitor runs at 1024x768, but it could run at 800x600 since it's so old.

    I got to thinking about having a dual display with my iMac, and was wondering if that was possible with the VGA Adaptor.

    Screen mirroring really has no benefit for me, so I would like to try screen spanning. I've heard of iBooks doing this hack, but I'm not sure if the iMac can do it; could someone please tell me if my iMac is compatible with the hack, and where to download the program to do it?

    I've always been sort of jealous of dual displays, and wanted to give them a try.

    15" iMac G4 1 GHz
    GeForce4 MX
    10.3
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #2
    It should work just fine. I remember reading that the hack works on the G4 iMacs--I was going to try it on mine but didn't want to risk damaging it. I'm paranoid ;) . Anyway--it should work fine.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #3
    Thanks for the info hotwire132002, I found this, and download the program.

    Look's like I'll be heading to the Apple store shortly.

    Dual displays, here I come! :D
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #4
    That's where I read it a while back. Same site. Good luck!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #5
    Hey

    Is there any possible way i can connect my 15" flant panal imac (800mhz) to my TV? is there any kind of adapter i can buy?

    Many Thanks
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #6
    I seem to recall that Apple's mini-VGA to S-Video adaptor doesn't work with the older iMacs. So, what I would suggest is to get a mini-VGA to VGA adaptor, and then get a scan converter like this one to hook it up to the TV. Good luck!
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #7
    Many Thanks - do you know what the quality would be like? Would a DVD on the mac, run DVD quality on the TV?

    Thanks
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #8
    DVDs are lesser resolution than your built-in, so yes, it would be fine in terms of quality.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #9
    Excellent, will video and sound run at the same time? there wont be a delay? i now need to find a way of extending the cable to run 20M

    Kind of ironic, my whole setup is wireless but me and my partner are buying our first appartment, so are saving money! need to do it on the cheap! so if we can get good results doing it wired, so be it

    Just found this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5174130402&fromMakeTrack=true

    I guess all i need then is a 20M RCA/S-video Cable

    Which do you advise to use? Does S-Video transmit vido and sound? so it is literally a choice of using on or the other?

    Thanks
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #10
    S-video transmits video only. To send the audio out of the iMac to the TV, you'll probably need a 1/8" to RCA adapter. (They're like two bucks at RadioShack)
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #11
    Beofre i buy all this, should there be a delay with the video and audio? I need it exact if it should be fine, just to confirm this is what i need:

    Mini VGA to VGA convertor

    VGA to TV Converter

    S-Video Cable

    3.5mm 1/8" mini plug to 2 RCA adapter

    Thanks
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Exact like oscilloscope-and-picoseconds exact, or exact like no noticeable lag? :eek:

    This is going to depend on the lengths of your cables. I would guess that if your cables are comparable in length, then this will not be an issue. S-Video, composite and component output never carry audio embedded in the video signal, and they all work fine for the high-end consumer crowd. If you really are worried about the microsecond or picosecond level lag, then you probably are going to need an oscilloscope to get it right, and you could still get it right, most likely, by adjusting the relative cable lengths of the two feeds...or of course by buying a delay box.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #13
    Within a half a second should be fine ;)
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #14
    When I used to use my TVator to play DVDs from my old PC onto a tv I used a Stereo "Y" Adatper (Can get it at alot of stores, converts the 3.5mm audio plug to RCAs (white and red)) and a 8 foot 3.5mm audio cable extension (from Radioshack)... I never noticed a delay in anything, and I was using a 20 ft VGA extension cable to the box...

    I once went to a friends house and did not bother to take my CRT monitor, so I just took the TVator... using it for regular work on a small TV sucked, the quality for text is not great at all.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #15
    Excellent - was the DVD's DVD quality on the TV?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page