VGA resolution of Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by drake, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. drake macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #1
    Can't find the answer to this. I've got a Dell 2405 widescreen that does 1920x1200, and the DVI port is already occupied by my pc. I'd like to hook the macbook into the VGA port and have it run native resolution. Can it be done, and is anyone actually doing this?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Apple's tech specs say "Extended desktop and video mirroring: Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 1920 x 1200 pixels on an external display, both at millions of colors"

    It does not say that this is only possible on DVI. Therefore I would assume it is capable of this on VGA as well.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Scratch that. The manual says (on Page 66) "Note: Your MacBook supports external display resolutions up to 1920 x 1200 on Apple
    DVI displays and up to 1600 x 1200 on VGA displays."
     
  4. drake thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #4
    Of course, they drop that on you after you've already purchased the macbook. I'm hoping the manual is wrong.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I'm fairly sure it'll be correct!

    Edit to add: and you could have checked the manual before purchase, or asked Apple...
     
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #6
    How high can your PC go with VGA? If it supports 1920x1200, why not use VGA on the PC and DVI on the Mac? (although, if you bought the Mac VGA connector, you'll have wasted $30)
     
  7. Felldownthewell macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #7
    Well it is not as if the MB does not support 1920x1200 at ALL. It may be irritating but you you just swap the DVI port back and forth when you want to switch machines...
     
  8. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    it should do, my ibook did, their are apps that run custom resolutions if 1920x1200 is not on the list.

    vga can do up to like 2500ish x 1400ish, apple probably dident want DVI to look weak next to it.
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    DVI is digital. VGA in analogue. So you need a D->A converter. The max VGA resolution will be limited by the "bandwidth" of this chip. It is possible that it cannot do more that 1600x1200 at 60Hz and Apple are not willing to drop the refresh rate below there.

    Personally I'd get a 2-port DVI KVM.
     
  10. drake thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #10
    Did a search, all the ones I found said "Up to 1600x1200 video resolution", and were expensive.
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Define "expensive"

    This for example is a 2-port DVI KVM that supports 1900x1200 and "only" costs $180.
     
  12. drake thread starter macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #12
    Might have some trouble getting one of these where I live (Canada) and I'd suspect if I could, it would be more in the neigbourhood of $300cdn. I'd say that's expensive. Under $100 is not expensive. If I was going to pay $300, I'd just buy another monitor.
     

Share This Page