Vibrate only?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by allmanbrother, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    How do I set my iPhone to only vibrate for calls and texts, and not make any noise?
     
  2. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    [​IMG]
     
  3. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I can get it to vibrate only for calls, but texts are totally silent even though I have vibrate selected? Yes, I realize what the mute switch is, thank you. I tried that.
     
  4. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Settings> Sounds > Turn the first Vibrate on for Silent

    Then

    Settings>Sounds>Turn on the Second vibrate above ringtone
     
  5. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #5
    WOW. That was fast!!!!

    Bu,Bu,But Thats an iPhone 4. Is the iPhone 4S different?
     
  6. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Did that, still totally silent for text messages. If I select a ring sound for texts, it will vibrate but also make the noise. I can't have it making any noise, just the vibration.
     
  7. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    If you have the ringtone set and the two vibrations are on with the flip switched your phone should vibrate for text messages.


    Do a simulated battery pull

    Hold the home and power for about 15 seconds




    How do you know that is an iPhone 4S or a 4?

    You don't..


    also that's what she said.
     
  8. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    I just don't get it, I have both vibrations on yes. I have a text tone and a ringtone. I switch to mute, and my calls vibrate just fine with no ringtone, but the texts vibrate AND play the text tone, even though I'm on mute.

    ----------

    Worked after resetting! Didn't think to even try, thanks and thanks everyone for the replies. It's so nice to have a community where we can resolve stuff so quickly.
     
  9. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Count the bands. The image only has three.

    The steps are the same for the iPhone 4 and 4S.
     
  10. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    Good luck, troubleshooting an iPhone is easy. It's all I do at work. >:l


    Fff- I forgot to count them I was hoping to get off easily. :>
     
  11. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #11

    The Antenna break in the aluminum case above the mute switch on the 4S, not on the 4. THATS a 4.
     
  12. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    I am confused. On Verizon iPhone 4s the antenna break in the band is also above the mute switch as well.
     
  13. HeezyBear
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #13
    The GSM iPhone 4 has the break on top of the phone next to the headphone jack.
     
  14. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    The 4S psychically looks identical to the Verizon iPhone. But it has FCC logos on the back. The Verizon 4 does not.
     
  15. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #15
    But the one in your image above, doesnt have the break above the mute switch, therefore, its a 4. NOT a 4S. Thats all Im sayin'.
     
  16. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    Top is CDMA. iPhone 4S has CDMA antenna breaks but also has a SIM slot.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #17
    Touche. ;)
     
  18. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #18
    Ahaa! Now we know why the switch is lower on the 4S and the iPhone 4 Bumpers dont fit quite right on the 4S!
     
  19. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #19
    I have a bumper on mine. You just have to be sure it's one of the universal ones that fit both the CDMA and GSM 4's.
     
  20. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #20
    Cool. I tried to be smart and bought two extra bumpers just before the 4S came out (thought it was going to be exactly the same as the 4 and wanted to have a new bumper on the new phone). Oh well, not far enough off to make it a loss. Im still happy.
     
  21. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    Which one is it? You want the one on the right.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. iYitsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #22
    Your bumper is going to get so dirty. I can't stand bumpers anymore, they're good for the first couple of days but after that they get so gross.
     
  23. woodekm
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #23
    Thats why I get black. So I cant SEE the grossness. :rolleyes:

    Ill look for the *right* bumper once the ones I just but go bad. now I know. thanks
     
  24. jimckimmel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #24
    Glad it worked for you. I'm having the same issue - no vibration when an email or text message comes in. I've tried resetting the phone as noted above, but still no luck... I think it's a software issue, though, not hardware - the phone vibrates when I turn the vibration settings on, and it vibrates when the phone rings....

    Also, anyone else think the vibration in the 4s is a bit weak? I know they're using a different motor, but it feels kind of soft...
     
  25. allmanbrother
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #25
    Ugh it's happening again. It's set to mute and I have both vibration settings on. Calls vibrate fine but messages are totally silent and I end up looking at my phone and seeing 5 new messages that never vibrated.
     

Share This Page