video editors - have you found your PM or MP to be a good investment?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Draddy, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. Draddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #1
    Hello all....


    I am a contract editor for several video production studios around town... right now I'm working off of my MBP, but have felt the need for a desktop system.

    A studio friend recently redid his video studio with a macpro, and has offered his dual 2ghz, 3GB ram, 410GB HD to me for $1300.

    Now my question is simply this, have you found your investment in a full size desktop computer to be worth while? I could just as easily get a newer referb or used iMac, with 1GB of ram and an intel chip for around the same price...

    thank you for your time!

    (BTW, I use Finalcut studio, and Boris Red most often)
     
  2. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #2
    My 2.5Ghz Quad PowerMac G5 is perfect for video making and editing. I don't regret buy it. For your friend's deal to you, if you could afford it go for it.
     
  3. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    What kind of footage are you editing? If you edit for a living, I would not get an iMac, it has no expandability and just isn't made for pros. I am not questioning its power, it's just that it wouldn't appeal to most editors.

    The deal you've been given with that dual G5 is actually pretty good considering what is inside. A Mac Pro is more future proof because it is Intel and that is the direction that Apple is moving in. The G5 will slowly get abandoned.
     
  4. Draddy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #4
    thanks for the replies!

    I don't have 4 grand to get a decent MacPro,

    mostly SD stuff... DVC Pro 50... but I've recently been getting a lot of P2 stuff.
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Well I'd either grab that G5, or get a refurbed Mac Pro.

    I know many PRO editors that use that Dual G5 and one that does shows for the History Channel with that machine (HD stuff) so I know it is capable of doing some work.
     
  6. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #6
    Yes, especially the Quad G5. I won't upgrade mine for another 2 years.
     

Share This Page