Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mailhojo

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 20, 2001
I am so ticked off. I am a teacher and have been waiting for Apple to update to 10.1 thinking that they just might let us powerbook people be able to hook up to a projector for lessons and demonstration and be able to see it on the projector AND my laptop. In a classroom this is vital. I can't just leave the projector on all day. And having to shut down and disconnect is stupid. When are they going to get around to this? Anyone else bothered by this? And I know they improved a lot of things in 10.1, but I need this to teach. A big thumbs down to apple for this. And they said this is the version for the masses. Maybe it is, but it's not for those of us in the classroom or office trying to present something.

[Edited by mailhojo on 10-03-2001 at 11:22 AM]

000111one111000

macrumors regular
Jul 23, 2001
DeKalb, IL
Try this

maybe try hitting "Mirroring On" or whatever the exact term used is.

I know it can do it, cuz i do it all the time with my PowerBook. In one of the System Prefs panels (perhaps displays, I believe) there should be a new tab when plugged into an external monitor or video device that says something about position I think. Underneath there, there's a box to check that says "Mirror Displays". Just check it, and you're good to go.

This was also possible with 10.0.4, because I did it with that too. I have my PowerBook set up to my home theater system to act as my "jukebox" when I have people over, and use the iTunes visualizations on the tv.

if you still can't get it to work, email me. I'll go take a look at my setup and take screenshots if you want.

laters

enoch

mailhojo

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 20, 2001
doesn't work