Video of iMac Core Duo vs. iMac G5 Booting

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #2
    quicktime doesn't play it
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    iJaz

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    #3
    doesn't work for me either!
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    Works in Firefox, eventually, takes a bit of time to download the movie in the background.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #5
    Ye, works in Firefox, at least.

    Some ~10 seconds after the G5 iMac displays the small Apple boot logo, the Intel iMac is already displaying the OS X desktop.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    joepunk

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    a profane existence
    #6
    Wow! what a fast machine. And here I was thinking that my PB was fast a startup.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #7
    .. I assume it hasn't slowed down since the introduction of the Intel machines either? :p
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    à la Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #8
    When there will be more Universal Binary-software, the speed improvement will be EVEN GREATER :D.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #9
    Brand new Intel iMac vs. Brand New G5 iMac
    Who will win the boot test?
    Both machines have 512mb of RAM
    Both came out of the box and where set up today.
    Who will boot faster??


    bad grammar
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #10
    ZOMG!!!11one
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #11
    Just timed my iMac - 65 seconds from cold start to useable desktop - I had to log in as well. Happy with that, especially since I usually start from sleep mode anyway, which is quicker. :)

    Couldn't go back to the movie and compare times.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Something's wrong with that G5 iMac

    The iMac G5 just appears to be crippled in some way. It could be a trick of the video frame rate, but you can watch the boot image load in three stages. My dual G4 PowerMac doesn't even do that, it brings the boot image right up in one swift step 18 seconds after I power on (power on, not wake from sleep -- I don't sleep my Mac, I always shut down). My full 10.4.4 desktop, including logging in to iChat, takes 53 seconds from power on.

    Dual 1.25GHz G4
    1.5GB PC2700 RAM (3x512MB)
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    80GB UDMA100 boot drive
    160GB SATA data drive

    Yeah, there seems to be something very wrong with that G5 iMac in the video if it takes that long.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #13
    Did he just choke his 1tb bandwidth on .mac, because the page is down.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    macosxuser01

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
  15. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #15
    I got 38 seconds on my iMac back when it had 512 MB of RAM. :confused:
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #16
    Hmmm

    I dont know my imac g5 doesnt take that long to boot. I dont think this one boot is representative of the difference between g5s and intels.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #17
    That intel boot is seriously insane.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    cycocelica

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #18
    wow that is just insane!
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    #19
    Yeah, I timed my new 1.9GHz iMac G5, which is loaded with extras and has been "lived-in" for a few months, and it booted in under a minute cold.
     
  20. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #20
    They've been talking about this at OSNews.com too. It seems as though a lot of people are complaining that the iMac G5 isn't working properly. It does seem odd, considering the comments made on other machines' boot times.
     
  21. sjk
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Eugene
    #21
    I'd like to hear specific times between the various stages of startup, from power-on to chime to Apple logo to login screen (or desktop, for auto-logins).

    Also, my understanding is that more RAM and certain devices will increase startup time because of POST initialization (or whatever it's called on a Mac). The selftest-#megs Open Firmware NVRAM variable controls how much RAM is tested, too. And differences in system startup items will cause variance.

    Without more objective testing with known system configurations the random reports of startup times seem pretty useless for genuinely meaningful comparison purposes.
     

Share This Page