Video Shows Differences Between Mavericks and Mountain Lion Multiple Monitor Support

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    During the WWDC Keynote presentation last week, Apple executive Craig Federighi showed off Mac OS X Mavericks. One of the new features is more substantial support for multiple monitors.

    In Mountain Lion, there are issues with using full-screen apps on setups with multiple monitors. Putting an app into full-screen mode disables the rest of the monitors. In Mavericks, apps can be set to full screen on individual monitors and moved around as necessary.

    However, as this video shows (via 9to5Mac), there are some changes in Mavericks that multiple monitor users may not like. For instance, application windows cannot be used across multiple monitors anymore -- windows can only be used on one monitor at a time. Also, spaces are only switched individually, which could affect the workflow of some users.

    It appears that, in OS X Mavericks, users can switch between both the Mountain Lion multiple monitor setup and the new multiple monitor support in Mavericks as needed. As always, it's worth noting that this is a beta and things could change before the final version of OS X Mavericks is released in the Fall.

    Article Link: Video Shows Differences Between Mavericks and Mountain Lion Multiple Monitor Support
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    AppleInLVX

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    I used multiple monitors with my old MBP and it eventually fried the GPU. I hope they're building them better these days. This looks like it'd be something I would actually use.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #3
    I don't see anything wrong with that… Is different options, or you have multiple monitor and one space or multiple monitors and multiple spaces
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    #4
    Obviously you can't have it both ways as it seems.
     
  5. Porshuh944turbo, Jun 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #5
    SO he doesn't like it in Mavericks because he can't see his pretty wallpaper on all 6 screens when he switches one of them? :rolleyes:

    What a "nightmare"...




    edit: Proposed fix that I think would solve this: Hold option key switches all screens
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #6
    It's not the wallpaper. It is not being able to switch all monitors at the same time. You can't cover an array of monitors with a single space, and switch between spaces like you can now.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    neuropsychguy

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #7
    The only real issue is not being able to have an application spread across multiple monitors. That's the only issue for Apple to "fix".
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    flashPUNK

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    This is a bit dramatic... He REALLLLLLY wants one huge image spanning across his 6 screens it seems...

    I wonder how many people use more than 1 external monitor as well. I use an external display with my MBA, and occasionally Air Display with my iPad, but I really doubt there are many people using 6 displays...
     
  9. macrumors member

    FirePhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom, Europe
    #9
    ^

    Also, I don't think he's in any position to complain considering he doesn't even have his six monitors calibrated together.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    does anyone know if in mission control, you can drag and drop windows from one screen to another aka 10.6? ML only lets you drag windows from different spaces associated with a single screen
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
  12. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    That seems to be his most important requirement lol
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
  15. macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #15
    "In the brand new, OSX Maverick"

    BZZZZT.

    WRONG.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #16
    His problems are odd.

    - He cares a lot about the wallpaper in the background?
    - He wants the apps splitted/extended between monitor?
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #17
    They can't fix that without rethinking their new approach to fullscreen apps on multiple monitors. Think about it awhile and you'll understand.

    Apple has received a lot of criticism on their multiple monitor support, but it's actually a very complex problem.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #18
    While I can appreciate his dilemma, I love the (new) way it works now.

    It makes so much more sense now, at least from my perspective.

    Plus, it certainly appears there is a setting which let's it work in "Classic" ML mode or the "new" Mavericks mode, which kind of negates the complaint in my mind. Would it be nice if they could enable full screen app in the classic implantation? Sure, but I don't think I would have spent any engineering resources on it.


    Karl P
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    ThunderSkunk

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    Durango, Co
  20. macrumors 68040

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #20
    Does this mean you cannot drag monitors between screens? Because then you would be able to span it between both... unless it were to have the app "change spaces" into the other screen. I wish he had showed how that worked
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #21
    I don't see what this guys problem is.

    One of the biggest complains people have had about the old version is this guys biggest complaint about the new version. People were complaining that they had to switch spaces on every screen when they just wanted to do it on one. The idea that you want all of your spaces to switch so that the giant background works correctly is ridiculous. It is working exactly how it should work.

    The not being able to spread apps across screens is because of the fact that one screen can change spaces. If you've got an app open on two screens, and you change what space you are on with one of them, that would mean the part on the other screen would disappear... I think Apple opted to only allow it on one screen to prevent said scenario.

    This is literally about the guy wanting his wallpaper to work correctly.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #22
    Your comment is the most irrelevant to this discussion so far, and probably will remain so until the thread dies. Incredible.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    #23
    Both those 'problems' seems like they'd be easily solved at the app level. Doubtless someone will produce a menubar applet that will keep your spaces synchronized across monitors.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Asclepio

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    #24
    still broken, snow leopard is better and faster.
     
  25. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #25
    I know right?

    1) who cares?
    2) How is splitting an app window across monitors helpful? As long as the app itself isn't contained to one screen, I am happy (ie two word docs on different screens)
     

Share This Page