Video Wont Run in FrontRow...?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ljump12, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. ljump12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #1
    I have a 350MB episode of a television show, encoded as an AVI, with i believe Divx.... I am using a new Macbook (1.87) Stock

    I tried to open it first; and Quicktime told me that it needed something else to run it, so i went to divx.com and downloaded the codec... Now it seems to run fine in Quicktime, but when it up in frontrow; it just hangs on a blank black screen... I can get back out by hitting menu, but it never plays... please help!

    Thanks you very much!
     
  2. G99 macrumors 6502

    G99

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #2
    I think Front Row doesn't like formats such as AVI, so, they could cause problems. I suggest converting the file to a format like MOV, and see if that works. :)
     
  3. ljump12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #3
    itd be a pain to convert 25 episodes of the show... would there be an easier workaround?
     
  4. G99 macrumors 6502

    G99

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #4
    Not really - with iSquint, you can drag and drop all the episodes, and they will all convert one by one. It may take a while though!

    - 300th post - :p
     
  5. ljump12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #5
    Will there be a noticible loss in quality, or increase in file size?
     
  6. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #6
    Every Divx or Xvid encoded video I have plays in FrontRow with no problems and I'm also using Divx 6.5 on Intel. :confused:

    Have you tried a restart?
     
  7. ljump12 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #8

    Thanks everyone; a restart seemed to ave done it; i dont know why i diddnt try it in the first place; but thank you very much!!!
     
  8. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #9
    It is funny how much a restart will fix. It's my answer to everything. :)
     
  9. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #10
    I had this same problem last night... spent like an hour trying everything under the sun. Then I rebooted... fixed it! D'oh.
     

Share This Page