viglink dot com click througs

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Peace, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #1
    Maybe its me playing with a hack of android on this touch pad but sometimes when I click on a thread link in the spy it goes through a click through link first. Has MR started to use. Viglink.com as another source of income ? Or is it the browser on this android tablet ?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    I notice this at work, so I assume it is a part of the CMS.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    So a 3rd party data mining site is collecting data on the links I click on in the forum spy ?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I don't pretend to know for sure, but I don't notice it on my home machine - Win 7 with Chrome or Firefox.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    It doesn't matter what OS or browser you are using it is embedded in the website code.

    Personally I'd like to know more about this since it does seem to collect data according to viglinks website.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    LostSoul80

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #6
    It's easy to spot the script inserted in the vBulletin's template (so not only in the Forum Spy).
    Not a big deal. There is at least another stat tracker.
     
  7. Peace, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012

    thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Its not just for stats. Its for ad revenue and I'd tracking also.

    From viglinks website

    Mouse over the link - notice it's a simple Amazon link. Now click on the link. Notice that an affiliate code and a tracking ID have been added.

    If this is simple ad based revenue I understand but would still appreciate some clarification from arn the website owner.

    [edit]

    It just seems to be a harmless way to make more money..sigh..

    carry on !...

    [/edit]
     
  8. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Kepler-452b
    #8
    Peace: MacRumors has been adding click-throughs to links for some time. Here is one thread about it. I guess VigLink is handling the details these days.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    Ya I know that now. I've never noticed it until I started using this crappy android port on this crappy HP Touch pad

    Come on Apple. I sold my precious iPad 2 for the elusive 3
     

Share This Page