Virtual keyboard

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mirrorchild, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. mirrorchild macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    Is there anything like a virtual keyboard available for mac computers? Windows has this thing called 'onscreen keyboard', I like to know if there is anything similar in my macbook?
     
  2. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #2
    Don't think so. But this patent might indicate that we'll see one in Leopard.

    Edit: Found some on Versiontracker.com
     
  3. iVersa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    There is one already, if you go into system preferences > international > Input menu > click "show input menu in menu bar" and tick the "keyboard viewer" above.

    Then you can click the flag in the menu bar and show the onscreen keyboard.

    I used it for 2 days while replacing mine, its rather hard work :p
     
  4. mirrorchild thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #4
    I see. I tried using that but I found another problem. Maybe I'm just stupid but how can I type uppercase letters using the keyboard viewer. Or key combinations for another matter?

    Maybe it's impossible altogether. Fro what I understand, the keyboard viewer isn't quite meant for the function of an onscreen keyboard but rather to allow one to see the results of possible key combinations as you type on a physical keyboard.

    Thank you for the responses in anycase.
     
  5. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #5
    To make a cap you hit the arrow with a line under it, caps lock, than clcik the letter than unhit caps lock. bit of work though
     
  6. mirrorchild thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #6
    I did try that, but for some reason the caps lock action doesn't 'stick', in that even after clicking caps lock, whatever letter I click afterwards remains lowercase. Is there something wrong with my keyboard viewer? Is there anything I can do such as setting certain system preferences or settings?
     

Share This Page