Virtual Network Computing (VNC)

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by wrldwzrd89, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    I'm considering running a VNC server on my Windows PC and a VNC client on my G4 iMac so I don't have to use my PC's interface. Do you have any suggestions for Windows VNC servers and Mac OS X VNC clients? I know of several Mac OS X VNC clients, such as Chicken of the VNC. I'm not too knowledgeable about Windows VNC servers though.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I do exactly this to connect to my 2K3 server from my mac.

    Mac client: VNCViewer
    Winodws server: TightVNC

    Versiontracker or google for 'em, they work perfectly together.
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    I'm getting "connection timed out" errors when I try to connect.

    I'm using the IP address reported by TightVNC as the address to connect to.
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    What are you putting in for the display number when connecting? I have to use 1.
     

    Attached Files:

    • vnc.jpg
      vnc.jpg
      File size:
      35.3 KB
      Views:
      63
  5. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    I tried 1 and 0, and neither worked.
     
  6. nels0360 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    You'll need to make sure that you don't have a firewall that is preventing communication. If you do, you will need to forward port 5900 to the computer running the VNC server.

    I use Chicken of the VNC for a Mac clien and OSxVNC for the VNC server. On the the Windows side, I use Real VNC for a VNC server. All work very well together.
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    Okay - I got it to connect, but only if I use display 0 and have Windows Firewall turned off. I'm trying to add the VNC server as an exception and restarting Windows to see if it takes effect.

    EDIT: Success! It connects now, even if the firewall is enabled.
     
  8. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #8
    I VNC from a PC to my Mac...the Mac has a dynamic IP but is always on, so no worries there. I just plug in my remote IP and voila! Mac OS X! I have gotten questions about "That neat skin" or "Weird desktop"...
     
  9. Euthyphro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #9
    VNC with multiuser login

    OSXVNC (server) running on my mac G5. G5 is multiple user login capable. VNC client is able to login and control one user (me) only when my screen was the last one active. For example, when another user "fast-switches" to their screen, I can login to the VNC server, but it won't let me control the UI...

    Anyone else run into this problem?
    Any ideas how to cure this?

    thanks!
     

Share This Page