Virtual PC 6

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iMax531, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. iMax531 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #1
    I'm considering buying VPC 6 Windows 2000 for my Powerbook.

    It's a 1ghz G4 with 1GB of RAM... is anyone running this or know about how fast it runs?

    x86 equivalent speed?


    thanks
     
  2. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #2
    I'm running the same config you have. VPC 6 runs fine with win2k. I actually bought the cheap version with PCDOS and then installed win2k myself. The last thing I want to do is pay for another windows license.

    It's hard to say what the PC equivalent speed would be, since I don't use a real PC very often. I certainly find the performance adequate for what I use it for. It's not going to play PC games very well, but for office apps and such, it's great. I run it with 192 MB of memory and 1024x768 screen size. I've tried 256 MB of memory, but for what I do, it didn't seem to make much difference. I'm generally only running one or two apps at a time.

    The network support is great (seamless), and I've accessed USB devices without a problem.

    HTH
     
  3. iMax531 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    SF Bay Area/JHU
    #3
    thanks

    That sounds great, thank for the response... I'm mostly going to run apps that just don't run on OS X, like a P2P program called soulseek and some other stuff. Sounds like it should work.

    thanks
     
  4. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #4
    Glad to hear that VPC6 runs reasonably well on the 1GHz machine -- I have a 500MHz Rev. A TiBook, and VPC seems to run on geological time...:(
     
  5. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #5
    The L3 cache on the 1 GHz PB helps, as does the upgraded graphics processor. I also noticed a nice performance boost going from VPC 5 to VPC 6.
     
  6. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #6
    On my dual 800, I'm running XP Home in VPC 6. Running sysmark puts it around a PII 450, but subjectively it does not feel that responsive and feels more sluggish than the wife's PII 366 laptop.
     
  7. Schiffi macrumors 6502a

    Schiffi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri
    #7
    Then again XP is a beast. XP requires 128MB of ram to just run, while 2000 only requires 64MB.
     
  8. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #8
    I'm running Windows 2000 on VPC6 and I have a DP G4 1 Ghz, with 1.25 GB of ram. I've given 512MB of ram to VPC6, but it stills seems sluggish.
    If you think its your computer (The mac), its not. Its because VPC just makes it a P2...they should have atleast tried to make it a P3 for VPC6...
     
  9. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    SSE

    those three letters are what is stopping that - and now with a certain **** ** **** ******* corporation at the controls i dont think it will get SSE support. Maybe it would get DX if MS were going bankrupt.
    :D
    HERE YE HERE YE PIRATE WINDOWS MORE THAN YOU DO NOW if its at all possible
    :D
     
  10. frescies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    For some odd reason...

    VPC runs a million times faster in OS 9. Windowing is better.... Resizing is better... Motion video is better.

    I wonder why.

    I have a 800 mhz FP 17" imac and VPC runs slightly slower than my 733mhz Celeron at work, when running in OSX.

    However when running VPC in OS9 it is considerably faster than my work computer
     
  11. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #11
    I myself have a 800 mhz FP 17" imac and am running VPC 6(XP home edition) and it's soooooooooo slow. You wait forever on the refresh rate. I understand its' emulation but get it right or don't do it at all. Hopefully, with it's recent aquisition, VPC might get alittle better(or worse). Honestly, if ya need to use Windows, just go out and build/buy a machine.

    "It's a dual platform world(perhaps more soon). Do what you have to do to get the job done."

    "Loyalty is to yourself, not a company"
     
  12. wowoah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #12
    Don't mean to sabotage the thread, but why does everyone think that MS is going to screw over VPC? I don't see VPC as anything other than a positive product for Microsoft. The way I see it, MS is really just a software company. So what if people decide to run a copy of Windows on their Mac instead of an x86 PC? Another copy of Windows sold is another copy of Windows sold, regardless of the platform.

    If anything, MS would probably find ways to make VPC better in order to encourage Mac users to purchase more Windows software. That's the way I see it, at least.
     
  13. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    True, but without a doubt a software company with a lot of important ties with big x86 vendors, worth lots of $$$!
     
  14. beefcake macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #14
    For those of you who have run VPC 6, would win2k be usable on an 867 12" PB with 640mb ram? It would need to run only one program, QuarkXPress, and although it doesn't need to be fast, it still needs to work.
     

Share This Page