virtual pc and airport card

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rarora, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. rarora macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    i recently installed virtual pc w/win xp and it doesn't seem to recognize my airport card and hence I am unable to get online. I have a powerbook 550 with the original airport card. Any help? (I'm a mac newbie)


    Thanks.
     
  2. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    You have to set VPC to share your Mac's internet connection. I can't remember exactly how to do it, but it's easy. Click all those icons at the bottom of your VPC window until you find the one having to do with networking. It should also be in your VPC properties. Lastly, VPC comes with a manual and help files--I know for a fact they tell you how to share a connection becuase that's how I learned to do it.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    IIRC, the default is to share the Mac's internet connection. Therefore, you don't have to do anything.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    What version of Virtual PC do you have? I think 6.0.3 was the first one with AirPort support. Not certain though, because I don't have AirPort.
     
  5. lisius_kent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    #5
    Are you shure you have a powerbook 550. It only has 33mhz :confused:
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  7. rarora thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #7
    right, 550mhz powerbook....i still haven't resolved the issue...
     
  8. rarora thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    btw i have vpc 6, do you think it matters that vpc is on a different partition than my os x?
     
  9. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    It doesn't matter that VPC is on another partition.

    Check all your preferences/settings and read that manual. This shouldn't be that difficult and, as somebody else said, it might be turned on by default. VPC should just share whatever connection your Mac has.
     

Share This Page