Virtual PC and Command & Conquer (original)

Discussion in 'Games' started by lynnpye, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. lynnpye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #1
    Has anyone tried to run Command & Conquer on Virtual PC 6. I've heard some of the older PC titles will work, albeit a touch sluggishly, in VPC.

    On that note, I did manage to get Homeworld running in VPC (the original Homeworld, not Homeworld 2). The mouse is a tad jumpy, but if you stick with keyboard shortcuts as much as possible, you should be in business.

    Note: I'm on a TiBook 800 G4, 1 Gb RAM.
     
  2. Doraemon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #2
    C&C 1 is available for the Mac. Why bother using an emulator?

    Aside from that, old game that don't require hardware acceleration run okay (tried Anno 1602 once and it was playable).
     
  3. lynnpye thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #3
    I have OS X 10.3.2 and don't have Classic. C&C is available sans OS 9?
     
  4. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 68040

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    You should be able to install the Classic environment from your installation discs.
     
  6. Foxer macrumors 65816

    Foxer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    C&C Red Alert ran very slow in VPC on a 1.33 PowerBook.
     
  7. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #7
    we should make a stickie thred in the gaming forum that VPC can never run games, cept solitaire pinball and the like
     
  8. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #8
    I played Warlords II? or mb III right through on a mac under vpc, Civ II wasnt bad. Red alert was playable, Need for speed sucked. When you can pick up a PC game for $5-10% but the Mac version hasnt even come out yet:)
     
  9. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    I playied

    Comand And Conquer: Red Alert (Aftermath... ect) back in Virtual PC 2.0 and 3.0... if you can't run it now...


    They have taken quite a step backwards...


    I haven't tested on VPC 6.0... but I hope it could! :eek:
     
  10. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #10
    It's crazy. If you read the old emulation.net reviews of VPC 1.0/2.0 and RealPC, those were running on beige PowerMacs getting some playable to less than playable performance. Think if we were running those versions of PC emulators on current Macs! They might actually be able to achieve perfect speed for some of our games. But then again, those were very early versions of Windows, DirectX, and other technologies. Oh well
     
  11. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 68040

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    I played Diablo I on VPC 2.0 on a 300 Mhz G3, and it ran pretty nice!

    It was a bit slow on a 250 Mhz TAM though...
     
  12. jedi180 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    C&C: Generals

    C&C Generals is now available as a Mac OS X native app. I saw it advertised in Macworld. I think it's being ported by Aspyr. www.aspyr.com.

    z

    jedi180
     
  13. kiwi_the_iwik macrumors 65816

    kiwi_the_iwik

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    There's an interesting project taking place at the moment called FreeCNC - making C&C native on Windows, Linux AND OSX platforms.

    Follow the white rabbit.... ---> HERE.
     
  14. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 68040

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #14
    OMG... This is awesome.. ThxX for the link!
     

Share This Page