Virtual PC and games?

Discussion in 'Games' started by DaYC-Ent, Oct 29, 2003.

1. DaYC-Ent macrumors newbie

Oct 28, 2003
    Norfolk, VA, USA
    i'm a pissed-off PC'er making the switch very soon, so please bare with me, as i'm still learning about the options of the Mac OS.

basically, with a decent PB or maybe even a G5, can you use Virtual PC to play PC games? do you have to run WinXP through VPC, or can you run the game just with VPC? would it even be worth the effort?

i've seen some of the games available for the Mac, and i'm actually impressed as it's more than i thought. However, there are a few titles that i'm not finding, or not seeing any future development plans. Like right now, i'm playing Homeworld 2, and with my current PC (Presario P4 1.4GHz WinME 256RAM 128GeForce3) i'm used to playing with all the details at or near their lowest.

so far, Mac is better at everything else, and a few games aren't going to determine whether i buy or not, but i'd just like to know.

Thanks! :p
  2. ima_pseudonym macrumors member

Apr 18, 2002

Virtual PC emulates pc hardware, to run software, you must run an os on top of it. WinXP is pretty bloated and does not run very qucikly win98 or 2k is a better bet.

Either way, though, it is useless for games. Graphic intensive games are simply not playable under VPC.

Also, keep in mind that VPC is currently incompatible with the G5. The program relies on low-level hardware functions present in the G3 and G4 but not the G5 (some sort of little-endian/big-endian emulation mode). Who knows when microsoft will update the app to run on the G5.
  3. DaYC-Ent thread starter macrumors newbie

Oct 28, 2003
    Norfolk, VA, USA
    oh, i didn't know VPC was a microsoft program. i thought maybe it was something that a mac company came up with... guess i should start paying attention to who makes what.

so should i just try to upgrade my PC for those few games that i just 'can't live without'? or just leave the darkside completely?