Virtual PC: Can I run Visual Studio.net on it?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by friendlyghost, May 31, 2003.

  1. friendlyghost macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    #1
    Has anyone successfully run Visual Studio.net on VirtualPC? Compiled? The whole deal? I'd be interested in hearing people's experiences.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Yes, it runs, and it's as slow as a dog. Didn't have any problems with it other than the speed though. I haven't used the 2003 version, just the 2002 one, but I don't see why 2003 won't work.
     
  3. maradong macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #3
    it has even been slow at my p4 1800 with 512 mb of ram... ( natively in windows 2k pro , which i was using at the time. )
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    I know, it's horrible! I run it on a 633 (connected to the server over a 10 Mb connection, the server's a 1700) and it takes several seconds to open a page. But it's unbearable under VPC.
     
  5. neele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    minimum requirements

    Hey,

    I'm not even getting the prerequisites installed, could it just be that I need more memory?

    The "explorer", the window simply closes and the taskbar restarts when I try to install the prerequisites..

    Is there someone who also had problems, but fixed them?
    And how? :confused:

    Thx in advance.
     
  6. 3-22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    #6
    RPC?

    I use it on my Windows XP box in my basement remoteing to from my Mac in my home office. I just RDC from the Mac to the XP box. I set Remote Desktop to full screan... Works great. VS.NET is fast, or atleast as fast as it can be. (which isn't very fast) VPC wasn't an option for me with a G5, but with a perfectly good 1.2GHz Windows XP box in the basement getting dusty I just remote to that. RDC is pretty snappy even at full screen and an insane resolution. I don't know your situation but, if you have an old PC laying around and a network it might be easier then using RDC instead of VPC.
     
  7. neele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    The problem is that I need it for school,
    in school, so my iBook is my only option.
    :( :)

    I've noticed that I'm not getting any programs installed,
    all I get is a "toString is not valid" error.

    Thx for the tip anyway.
     
  8. synthetickittie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Im in a c# class this term and needed it as well. I have it installed on my powerbook (1ghz). Its slow but usuable. The error you get about "tostring" all I can tell you is what "tostring" is... tostring is called every time you try to wring something with system.console.write. So if you were to write the following:

    int someInt = 123213;
    System.Console.Write("{0}", someInt);

    The toString method is authomatically called on someInt in this code ( someInt.toString() ). Every object (user defined or not) is derived from "object" and one of the few methods that ever class gets because of this is "toString". So basically my guess would be that you do not have the library with "object" in it installed.

    ps. I just started this whole c# thing 2 weeks ago (been doing c++ before) so if Im wrong some where please correct me but Im pretty sure what I said it right.
     
  9. bcstanding macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #9
    I ran it under VPC 6.1 on my Powerbook G4 400 last semester. Even though it was e x t r e m e l y slow, it worked. It also impressed the crap out of the instructor and several students to see that, yes, I can get Windows work done on my Mac that's 3 years old... :)

    Giving the guest OS (mine was Win2k) more RAM also helped some.
     
  10. pigwin32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    Oakura
    #10
    Re: Virtual PC: Can I run Visual Studio.net on it?

    If you just need to compile some c# code there's always the rotor project. It's based on the shared source cli. I haven't had a bunch of success getting this working on my laptop but then I haven't spent any time on it. You could also check out Eric's Weblog which indicates it does run on Panther. Obviously you don't get the Visual Studio IDE but compiles will be a *lot* faster than using Virtual PC. Why hamstring your Mac and waste system resources when there's an alternative.
     
  11. neele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #11
    I'm getting past the prerequisites now, by adding more RAM to virtual pc,. :)
    Visual starts installing, but when he asks for the second disc, (and I insert the disc )the installation program doesn't seem to accept it. :confused:
    Though the explorer reads it well.

    Anyone?
    Thx in advance.
     
  12. neele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #12
    Never mind,
    I wrote the borrowed cd's myself and they now work.

    :)
     
  13. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #13
    VS.net is horrid on a Mac. I think you'd be better off buying a $400 Dell to run it.

    and there are C# compilers for Mac OS X :)
     
  14. neele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #14
    It's only for 2 hours a week, on a portable in school.
    I don't think I'll ever buy a Dell anyway. :cool:

    VS.net is actually the only MS program I like working with,
    it came as a surprise to me that they can make something decent.
     

Share This Page